1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dust in the dials....

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by T0m, Nov 16, 2011.

  1. T0m
    Offline

    T0m Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    3
    ....guys I have noticed some dust behind the glass on my dials, I was wondering is it something I just live with or is it something that is not hard to get out and remove?
    #1
  2. simon.m
    Offline

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,745
    Likes Received:
    6
    i have this too looks like a pig to strip down and clean id love to no how it got there though lol
    #2
  3. AndyC
    Offline

    AndyC Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    7
    you can take the cover off and airline it
    #3
  4. benjie
    Offline

    benjie Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    86
    It's OK to take apart. Steering wheel down and forward. Take off the trim above the steering wheel. In there are 2 T20 bolts, unscrew them. Get behind the unit (take fuse cover off on the right) and push it out. Rotate the cluster so it's pointing up to the roof so you can get behind and take the 2 wiring harnesses out. Take the whole thing out of the car and there are 4 silver(?) screws to take out the back. Then the front unclips from the back. Then you may need to unclip (white clips) another bit to get to the inside of the dials.
    #4
  5. Digger1
    Offline

    Digger1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    1
    Be very carefull,,, if you knock the speedo-dial even slightly it won't work properly and will shuddder through trying to read the speeds,,
    read about this on audizine and decided not to risk it and the immobiliser is built into the instrument cluster..
    #5
  6. Cabbyfan
    Offline

    Cabbyfan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    16
    Really ? When I completely stripped my cluster down to replace the LCD I had to pull off the needles and mine works fine. Look in stickies on here and you will see pictures.
    #6
  7. swarcup
    Offline

    swarcup Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    37
    easy job, why are you nervous?
    #7
  8. Cabbyfan
    Offline

    Cabbyfan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    16
    Nervous ? First time ? No, been nervous lots of times ....... Heeeeee
    #8

Share This Page