1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DRL Daytime Running Lights

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Leenx, Jul 15, 2009.

  1. Leenx
    Offline

    Leenx Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 15, 2009]
    Re Daytime Running Lights - Page 47 (Lights & Vision) in the owners S3 manual. There's an icon already on the light switch in the car to put on the DRL's so what's their description all about in the manual about using thumbwheel to activate them aND PLAcing the light switch in 0 or AUTO? which I don't have?

    Anyone shed any light on this? As I say I seem to already have a DRL icon anyway.:wtf:

    Also anyway of leaving those DRL's on when you lock the car and go and pay for some petrol or something - kinda nice to lust at them when your quewing up to pay!
    #1
  2. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,205
    Likes Received:
    51
    [Jul 16, 2009]
    Is it a facelift car?

    On pre-facelift there was a thumbwheel to turn the DRLs on and off. All you have to do is leave the switch on and the DRLs will come on with the ignition.

    With facelift A3/S3s there's an extra selection on the light switch labelled DRL. Putting it in this position should have the same effect. They shouldn't still be on when you've locked the car :think:
    #2
  3. nicks3
    Offline

    nicks3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 16, 2009]
    Im sure my facelift S3 does not have a drl option, just auto......
    #3
  4. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,909
    Likes Received:
    731
    [Jul 16, 2009]
    The DRL option on the lighting switch is only there if the car DOES NOT have Auto Lights. If it DOES have Auto Lights then the word AUTO appears where the DRL would be.

    My 2009 2.0TDI-140 Sportback is the same. It has the Auto Lights function so it has AUTO on the switch and not DRL.
    #4
  5. nicks3
    Offline

    nicks3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. heyadamhey
    Offline

    heyadamhey Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 16, 2009]
    With VagCom you can set "coming home lights" Someone will correct me if I'm wrong, but you could probably control the DRLs similarly.
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2009
    #6
  7. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,205
    Likes Received:
    51
    [Jul 16, 2009]
    OH I hadn't noticed that was a question!

    Not really possible no.
    #7
  8. NHN
    Online

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,813
    Likes Received:
    1,344
    [Jul 16, 2009]
    This isnt a serious thread is it, lust at them when paying for petrol, now I've heard them all, lmfao
    #8
  9. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,166
    Likes Received:
    692
    [Jul 16, 2009]
    "OH LOOK MY LEDS" "I THINK I'M GONNA.................:sex:"
    #9
  10. NHN
    Online

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,813
    Likes Received:
    1,344
    [Jul 16, 2009]
    LMFAO lol, dirty bar steward
    #10
  11. Leenx
    Offline

    Leenx Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 17, 2009]
    Yeah it's facelift - cheers for clarifying.
    #11
  12. atownsend91
    Offline

    atownsend91 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 8, 2014]
    Sorry to bump this very old thread,

    My car has the Auto lights function, does this mean that installing something small like grill LED DRL's would be impossible? my headlight switch has the coming home lights feature also... Audi DRL grill.jpg
    #12
  13. Murton
    Offline

    Murton Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 8, 2014]
    There are a few different lighting options depending on options and pre/post face lift.
    Does your car have DRL already. Separate switch to turn them on or automatic?
    Where is your DRL currently?
    #13
  14. Timwills
    Online

    Timwills Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Sep 8, 2014]
    I wired some drls to mine even with mine having the auto button.

    Wired to a fuse that comes live with engine on. And turns off when engine turns off.

    Wired to sidelight wire so drl dims when sidelight/headlight comes on. (As mot would require)
    #14
  15. Murton
    Offline

    Murton Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 8, 2014]
    On mine I bought a LED P21W from Trups (EM Tuning) and recoded to indicate the lights had LED DRLs.
    When you do this you remove the side light bulb and tape it behind otherwise it is on whenever the DRL or side lights are on and doesn't look good. So what you could do is replace the side light bulb with a whiter one (or a LED canbus equivalent) and then remove the existing DRL bulb and instead wire some LED lights into the existing wires for the DRL.
    However it really depends on what lights you already have. Mine are non adaptive dual Xenon on a 2006 pre facelift car.
    #15
  16. atownsend91
    Offline

    atownsend91 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 9, 2014]
    okay so i have standard halogen reflectors at the moment on my car

    i plan to have some Bi Xenon headlights fitted courtesy of NHN,

    So really what i'm looking for is keeping the auto headlights switch and features just as shown in the previous picture with bi xenons

    I dont have a DRL feature on my headlight switch but i'm sure the ECU is the highline version so should be able to get this enabled via vag com right ?

    Timwills - when you wired yours in, did you find it easy getting the wire through to the sidelights and also to the fuse box?

    just wanting to have a good (almost OEM) result and tidy wires

    IMG_4703.JPG
    #16
  17. Murton
    Offline

    Murton Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 9, 2014]
    I am sure it can be done. NHN is one of the retrofitting experts here and knows a log about VCDS so will know what options can be set and will code it to behave as close to the way you want as possible. Personally I would just speak to him and explain what you want and I am sure he will come up with suggestions. Trups here may well be able to supply any LED lights you want as part of the setup.
    #17
  18. atownsend91
    Offline

    atownsend91 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 9, 2014]
    Yeah thinking this is definitely what i'll have to do... thanks for the help all !
    #18
  19. Timwills
    Online

    Timwills Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Sep 9, 2014]
    Was straightforward the fog light holders came out and then the wiring was straight onto the sidelight wire which i just stripped back and tapped into!

    Here's my thread

    http://www.audi-sport.net/xf/threads/fitted-drl-on-audi-a3-8p-2004.219528/
    #19
  20. atownsend91
    Offline

    atownsend91 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 15, 2014]
    Cheers Timwills for that !!

    Will get some fundings together and look further into doing this as it seems really simple looking at your how to :)
    #20
    Timwills likes this.
  21. hollow
    Offline

    hollow Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    870
    Likes Received:
    51
    [Sep 15, 2014]
    afiak you cant enable drl and auto headlights on the lightswitch you have as the auto and drl switch are the same with just a different name on the switch for the function , you need the tt switch which has a separate drl switch and the auto function is still kept on the main rotary switch.
    #21
  22. Murton
    Offline

    Murton Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 15, 2014]
    My light switch has an auto setting on the rotary, a small thumb wheel switch to turn on the DRL to the left of it and a coming home light button beneath that.
    #22
    hollow likes this.
  23. hollow
    Offline

    hollow Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    870
    Likes Received:
    51
    [Sep 15, 2014]
    want to donate it to me ?
    #23
  24. atownsend91
    Offline

    atownsend91 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 16, 2014]
    damn you beat me to it... so that part is from an audi TT, anyone with a part number... would be nice if i could get hold of the chromed one, mines just plain boring black... :)

    If you have the DRL light functioning switch, surely you'd need to recode the car also to enable DRL on the car right ? as then there'd be the auto function and DRL function,

    So keeping this in line with everything previously said here... would wiring still need to be tapped into sidelight for dimming function?

    If i had a TT headlight switch with DRL and auto function fitted, would any of the wiring change from that ?
    #24
  25. Murton
    Offline

    Murton Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 16, 2014]
    As you are getting some bi-xenon headlamps from NHN these will need to be coded using VCDS anyway. Set them to 'Bi-Xenon with LED DRL'.
    Speak to Trups and get a pair of 9W P21W bulbs which were about £18 the pair when I bought them and put these in the inner bulb holders.
    Now what will happen is whenever the side lights are on or DRL are on both the LED DRL will come on and also the side light. Normally the side light bulb holder is unplugged and tied behind the light as it still gives off a yellow light which is ugly. When the main lights are on (side, dip or main beam) then the P21W bulb will dim automatically. You can also have it dim when you indicate but as you dont have DRL currently this will not be enabled so if you want it then ask for that to be enabled when the VCDS coding is done.

    Now for the additional DRL light you have two options.
    1) Use the supply from the side lights. You will need to make sure the power drain is 5W to avoid CAM bulb errors and these will be on full brightness whenever either the lights are on or just the DRLs are on.
    2) Take a tapping off the supply to the P21W LED bulb. The current bulb is 9W and I know a 20W LED bulb works here so you have at least 11W to play with. This will dim when the main lights come on.
    Personally I would go with option 2 are you have more power to play with, dont have to worry about a minimum power drain, and they dim automatically.
    #25
    atownsend91 likes this.
  26. atownsend91
    Offline

    atownsend91 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 18, 2014]
    Okay this is great, thanks for the help, will look at getting parts together once I get paid :)
    #26
  27. hollow
    Offline

    hollow Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    870
    Likes Received:
    51
    [Sep 19, 2014]
    so ash you have the diagram or wiring changes for the new switch ? as the drl is now on a thumb wheel it must need at least one wire moving or splicing at the switch side .

    new price for switch from tps is £72
    #27

Share This Page