1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Driver's door sensor problem

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by The Doctor, Jul 25, 2009.

  1. The Doctor
    Offline

    The Doctor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    129
    [Jul 25, 2009]
    Hi guys, this is my first post on this forum, having just bought a 2003 '03 S3 this week to replace my ageing Fiesta 1.25 Freestyle! I'm loving it so far, but as with any new used car I'm starting to discover a few minor niggles that I want to get fixed.

    The first one is that sometimes the dash display says that the driver's door is open when in fact it's shut properly. This is a problem because it also means that the interior lights stay on & the alarm won't activate if this happens.

    Generally if I shut the door more firmly it solves the problem, but I don't want to go around slamming the door everytime I get in or out. The passenger door & tailgate are fine.

    Has anyone else experienced this & can anyone shed some light on how to fix it?

    Many thanks,
    Paul.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 23, 2014]

  3. HP
    Offline

    HP Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 25, 2009]
    a common problem, plenty of threads if you use the search.
    apparently it seems to be worse on hot days, i'm in Spain at the moment in 40 degree heat! get this problem every day, its annoying.
    #2
  4. IIIadidasboy
    Offline

    IIIadidasboy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 25, 2009]
    That's been my experience as well. I just turn-off the light and carry on - no biggie. I haven't got an alarm fitted so I've never been that bothered.

    As HP said, there's loads of info regarding the subject.
    #3
  5. Nilz
    Online

    Nilz Defo worth the wait :)

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,378
    Likes Received:
    468
    [Jul 26, 2009]
    Microswitch Issue, just do a quick search on the "microswitch, you should get plenty of info.

    Its supposed to be quite a fiddly job, which is one of the reasons I have'nt done mine.

    As already mentioned, just turn the lights off.
    #4
  6. jesters3
    Offline

    jesters3 Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jul 27, 2009]
    As niltz18t says it is a microswitch issue and a common one

    I get this quite a bit now, the only other way I know of 'sorting it' is to cool down the car i.e. open the windows to cool down the mechanism inside and drive for a little while. Then stop and do the door thing this normally cures it for me. However on very hot days this rarely works as it is so damn hot.

    On the interior light; once locked it goes off in 2mins if no other activity is registered; alarm is activated but not the interior sensor I believe.
    #5
  7. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,345
    Likes Received:
    990
    [Jul 27, 2009]
    I had this and to be honest I wouldn't bother pissing about with the microswitch. I paid 4rings to change the whole door lock which contains the microswitch and the problem is sorted. it only cost about £100 too.
    #6
  8. The Doctor
    Offline

    The Doctor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    129
    [Jul 27, 2009]
    Thanks guys. I've been quoted £218.50 from APS for sorting this out, which includes replacing the catch and labour (2 hours). Sounds steep compared to the £100 you quoted Westle.
    #7
  9. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,345
    Likes Received:
    990
    [Jul 28, 2009]
    That is a bit steep and it doesn't take 2 hours either! 4rings did it in about 40mins on mine as I watched them. The door lock was about £50 from Audi and they charged me an hours labour at a similar rate.
    #8

Share This Page