1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

drive select

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by karlabdool, Sep 12, 2013.

  1. karlabdool
    Offline

    karlabdool Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Sep 12, 2013]
    hi all,

    Is there anyway to jump from auto to dynamic and dynamic to auto directly?. I usually use the drive select switch and going from auto to dynamic is simple, but to return to auto i have to cycle through the other modes.

    Using the mmi just takes too long and requires too much attention.

    I dont like leaving it on dynamic since the revs are too high, esp when following a slow car for some time.
    When I get a small window for overtaking i need to get everything out of the car and therefore jump to dynamic for the pass.

    It would be nice to have a dedicated 'dynamic mode' button like 'sport button' on bmws.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 22, 2014]

  3. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,751
    Likes Received:
    776
    [Sep 13, 2013]
    Surely if you put your foot down in auto it does the same as dynamic anyway?
    #2
  4. karlabdool
    Offline

    karlabdool Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Sep 13, 2013]
    no since in auto the car might be in 6th or 7th when cruising behind the slow car and there will be a delay when i kick down unlike dynamic where it will be high revving in 3rd ready to attack.

    I guess i will have to just drive the car manual...I still think dynamic mode could be a bit more sensible with the high revs.
    #3
  5. Flode
    Offline

    Flode New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 13, 2013]
    Have you tried to slide it into sport mode?
    #4
  6. Fragup
    Offline

    Fragup Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    183
    [Sep 13, 2013]
    If Audi list the drive modes in the order on they are set up on the car, i.e.
    Comfort, Dynamic, Auto, Efficiency and Individual.
    then couldn't you set up Individual mode same as Dynamic, which just means a double press on the drive select button when in Auto would take you to Individual instead of 4 presses to get to Dynamic, which is just that little bit easier when you in a rush to over take.
    just an idea, as haven't got mine to test yet, but if there is not a better way to do could be an easy compromise to sort.
    #5
  7. Richyboyp
    Offline

    Richyboyp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    23
    [Sep 13, 2013]
    What I do: my car is normally in efficiency mode and so like you the gears are wrong for power. Kick down does work well though if I'm honest. Do if I want to change to dynamic I just pull back on the selector which then puts it in 'sport' I just assume this is dynamic although someone may say otherwise. Once I've overtaken I then pull selector back and it returns to E. now I assume if you are in 'auto' this is what it would return to but not tried as I always run E. other option is push selector to the left and manually change gear, that's also fun.
    Hope this helps
    #6
  8. Richyboyp
    Offline

    Richyboyp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    23
    [Sep 13, 2013]
    Obviously pulling the selector back is while the car is in D. :)
    #7
  9. 97catalunya
    Offline

    97catalunya Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    161
    [Sep 13, 2013]
    I just use the paddles when I want to overtake. Just pop it down a gear or 2 overtake then hold the right hand up paddle for a couple of seconds and it returns to auto ;) or just leave it and after a period of time it will switch back to auto it's self.
    #8
  10. TDI-line
    Offline

    TDI-line Uber Post Whore

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    9,057
    Likes Received:
    38
    [Sep 13, 2013]
    This maybe a really stupid question, but is drive select only available on s-tronic models?
    #9
  11. Richyboyp
    Offline

    Richyboyp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    23
    [Sep 13, 2013]
    Think it's se and above ????
    #10
  12. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,751
    Likes Received:
    776
    [Sep 13, 2013]
    No, available on everything I think (can't remember about SE though, could just be Sport trim upwards)
    #11
  13. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,751
    Likes Received:
    776
    [Sep 13, 2013]
    Configurator says Sport upwards, so on everything except SE models
    #12
  14. Richyboyp
    Offline

    Richyboyp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    23
    [Sep 13, 2013]
    Oops! I was wrong :( sorry
    #13
  15. dkpeter
    Offline

    dkpeter New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Sep 13, 2013]
    A bit easier than using the drive select switch is to assign this functionality to the programmable steering wheel button. This enables you to toggle through the different modes with both hands on the steering wheel. Not exactly what was requested but perhaps a bit easier.
    #14
    Fragup likes this.
  16. 97catalunya
    Offline

    97catalunya Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    161
    [Sep 13, 2013]
    I have done this too, shame it can't be used as a shortcut directly to dynamic mode though.
    #15
  17. karlabdool
    Offline

    karlabdool Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Sep 13, 2013]
    This sounds better, how do you go about programming the button?
    #16
  18. RossR
    Offline

    RossR Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    119
    [Sep 13, 2013]
    It's under car settings in the MMI.
    #17
  19. Richyboyp
    Offline

    Richyboyp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    23
    [Sep 13, 2013]
    Was going to suggest the button on the steering wheel but not sure if that button is across the models and I also knew it only toggles through not just selects one driver style
    #18
  20. JohnnyM100
    Offline

    JohnnyM100 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    200
    [Sep 13, 2013]
    Sounds as close to a "push to pass" or "overtake" button as can be expected. Ace!
    #19
  21. Daveotto
    Online

    Daveotto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    393
    [Sep 13, 2013]
    you sort of can if you leave it in automatic the next option in the cycle is dynamic
    #20
  22. Tom75
    Offline

    Tom75 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Sep 13, 2013]
    Yes, thats right if you just pull the selector back it goes into s-mode if you pull back one more time you are in normal mode again. however this will only change the gear selection and acceleration to normal s-mode but it will not change the chassie and also not change the steering etc to dynamic.

    Regards,
    Tom
    #21
  23. Fragup
    Offline

    Fragup Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    183
    [Sep 13, 2013]
    that's a cool feature, didn't realise you could do that. Bonus !
    #22
  24. karlabdool
    Offline

    karlabdool Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Sep 14, 2013]
    hi, when you say pull back , do you really mean to the side so as to engage the + - manual shifting in sport mode? or is there actually another notch down when in D that takes you to automatic sport mode?
    #23
  25. Tom75
    Offline

    Tom75 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Sep 14, 2013]
    No, not to the side because then you will be in manual sport mode. In the normal D position just pull it a little back and you will see in the display that the D disappears and a S shows up.

    Regards,
    Tom
    #24
  26. constvoid
    Offline

    constvoid Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Sep 14, 2013]
    Yes, but just to clarify for karlabdool - unlike the separate "S" position on the 8P s-tronic selector, this is just a case of moving the selector backwards and then releasing it. As it's spring-loaded it will return to the "D" position, but the box will be in "S" mode until you do the same again.
    #25
  27. Tom75
    Offline

    Tom75 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Sep 14, 2013]
    exactly
    #26
  28. karlabdool
    Offline

    karlabdool Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Sep 14, 2013]
    great this should work fine, better than cycling through the drive modes...but one question, when in auto drive select mode and cruising slowly(50-60 kmph) in D6 or D7, if i go to dynamic the car will downshift to S3. Will this downshift happen when i 'pull back'? or will it remain in the same gear(S6 or S7).
    Will try it today if i get the time.

    thanks tom
    #27
  29. Richyboyp
    Offline

    Richyboyp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    23
    [Sep 14, 2013]
    It will down shift right away. Same as dynamic. And pretty sure when pulled back again it will revert to what drive select you were in originally. I use this all the time :)
    #28
    karlabdool likes this.
  30. 97catalunya
    Offline

    97catalunya Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    161
    [Sep 17, 2013]
    I have been using "Dynamic" a little more now as the miles are building up.
    I have noticed when I change to dynamic obviously the gearbox will go into sport mode. But after leaving the car then getting back in when I start it up the gearbox is in D not S even though the drive select is in "Dynamic"
    Is this normal, I don't know if its just protecting the engine as it is still cold? If so does it automatically go back into S when warm?
    #29
  31. Toadoftoadhall
    Offline

    Toadoftoadhall Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    80
    [Oct 11, 2013]
    On the subject of drive select, what are all the possible settings when programming the individual mode? on an S3 test car last week I did have a quick look but cannot recall all the customisable options. I know that the steering was one, engine sound another (though is that S3 specific?) what about the shift points of the s- tronic ?
    #30
  32. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,751
    Likes Received:
    776
    [Oct 11, 2013]
    Throttle, ACC, Cornering light (god knows what that does), Steering on mine I think
    #31
  33. Toadoftoadhall
    Offline

    Toadoftoadhall Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    80
    [Oct 12, 2013]
    Thanks for that. ACC - you mean the adaptive cruise? What setting options for that - the follow distance?
    From your sig info, looks like yours is Manual.
    Can anyone out there let me know about the s tronic settings and what can be adjusted within Drive Select?
    #32
  34. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,751
    Likes Received:
    776
    [Oct 12, 2013]
    Yeh, adaptive cruise. Not really played with it much but I assume dynamic will stick more closely to the speed or the car in front, and comfort is a bit more relaxed about it
    #33

Share This Page