1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Drain on battery

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Jet2004uk, Mar 24, 2014.

  1. Jet2004uk
    Online

    Jet2004uk Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    45
    [Mar 24, 2014]
    hi guys

    Have had one or two little issues, last few days leaving home lights stopped working (coming home work fine) odd occasion engine turn over / start slightly longer than normal, finally (which may answer previous issues) left car for two days went to it and battery was completely dead, greenflag came and boosted it no problem, so went into my local garage today to get battery tested, turns out battery is fine but I have a constant draw of 0.6 amps, they dont have the gear to trace where it maybe coming from so just wondering if the likes of VCDS would locate the problem? or has anyone got any idea what it might be the cause of the drain, something not shutting down or turning off ?, have checked obvious things like interior lights and glovebox

    any ideas most welcome

    Cheers
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 21, 2014]

  3. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Mar 24, 2014]
    You need a circuit current tester or multimeter, to check what fuse has the draw then eliminate the systems from this.

    Do you have an rns, bt or fiscon unit fitted?
    #2
  4. Geraldy212
    Offline

    Geraldy212 Sportback owner

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    35
    [Mar 24, 2014]
    Just a thought. Have you checked that the radio is off? Sometimes the volume is turned down so far that we think it is off. The only other way, would be to pull fuses while monitoring the battery drain. Did you check the boot light? What you have is a 7.2Watt sink which does sound a bit like a lamp. Good luck.
    #3
  5. Jet2004uk
    Online

    Jet2004uk Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    45
    [Mar 24, 2014]
    coincidence NHN I recently fitted a new head unit couple of weeks ago, Zenec purposely made for the A3 (was a straight swap) my garage have asked me to remove it and they will retest to see if its still drawing just incase it was the new head unit
    #4
  6. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,297
    Likes Received:
    972
    [Mar 24, 2014]
    I found this video very helpful when I thought I had a battery drain:

    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 15, 2014
    #5
    Artimus likes this.
  7. Jet2004uk
    Online

    Jet2004uk Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    45
    [Mar 25, 2014]
    Thanks Westy, is there any kind of problem pulling fuses from a canbus sytem with the ignition off? as my local garage is opposed to the idea, I trust this garage 100% been going to it since I was 18 am now a young 41 so I have no reason to argue with them they do admit they not fully kitted up for this type of vehicle, so does anyone know of any issues with this kind of check on a canbus system?

    Thanks
    #6
  8. Lewis583
    Offline

    Lewis583 Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    70
    [Mar 25, 2014]
    As long as the ignition is off you will be ok. May have to input the radio code and reset the clocks but that's it.
    #7
    Westy likes this.
  9. Lewis583
    Offline

    Lewis583 Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    70
    [Mar 25, 2014]
    As long as the ignition is off you will be ok. May have to input the radio code and reset the clocks but that's it.
    #8
  10. Jet2004uk
    Online

    Jet2004uk Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    45
    [Mar 25, 2014]
    Cheers, seems a good and cheap way to narrow it down, does anyone know if VCDS would locate this type of problem? as I was planning on actually buying VCDS
    #9
  11. Lewis583
    Offline

    Lewis583 Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    70
    [Mar 25, 2014]
    Unfortunately not. VCDS is unable to measure amperage drain on the battery.

    As Westy linked to, a proper Voltmeter needs to be used. These can be bought cheaply via Maplins, B&Q etc.

    Also can a mod delete my double post if they see this. Bloody phone.
    #10
  12. Jet2004uk
    Online

    Jet2004uk Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    45
    [Apr 2, 2014]
    Update:

    Turned out it was the new Zenec head unit I installed, even though it was a straight swap with no modifications to wiring the unit is pulling 0.6 amp when powered off, I have been in touch with Zenec who asked me to do various updates (CANbus) they said this would solve the problem of power drain, even with the CANbus update done it is still drawing the 0.06 amps, will see what Zenec say but looks like I will be sending the unit back
    #11

Share This Page