1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DPF removal on Audi A4 (B7) 2.0 Tdi 170 Quattro Avant

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by Holywood, Jun 15, 2010.

  1. Holywood
    Offline

    Holywood New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an A4 (B7) 2.0 Tdi 170 Quattro Avant and would like to know if it is possible to get the DPF removed or deleted? I have seen similar posts on the A3 Tdi forum. Has anyone had their A4 DPF removed as I heared it is either a much harder job or costlier due to longtitudinal engine rather than A3 transverse. Any details of cost and the Company would be appreciated thanks.
    Previous Kingfisher Blue A4 now dead, need to update profile. Cheers
    #1
  2. CSK423
    Offline

    CSK423 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a special by a fabricator if you want one, well into 4 figures, is the A3/Leon option not around £1k inlcuding the custom code to ignore the dpf and that's with an off the shelf bypass pipe.

    I've checked with no success of a cheapish solution or I would have freed up another 20/30bhp by now.
    #2
  3. Triple.O.G
    Offline

    Triple.O.G Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    3
    Sorry guys I'm new to Audi ownership, what is DPF And why remove it?
    #3
  4. CSK423
    Offline

    CSK423 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    have a look here.....

    http://alternativefuels.about.com/od/glossary/g/dpf.htm

    Known for choking up generally when people are constanly toodling round town and very little motorway driving.

    Around £1k + labour to replace if damaged, which I've had to do due to another problem.

    If removed people have seen gains of 40/50bhp on the 170bhp engine.
    #4
  5. Triple.O.G
    Offline

    Triple.O.G Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ah i get it now, would hope mine doesn't go if thats the case. meant to be abit tricky to get rid of though arn't they?

    with an increase of 30/40bhp would a remap not be needed to avoid detonation or is that only for petrol engines?

    you'll have to pardon my lack of knowledge, iv just come from a Scooby and dont know anything really about diesels!
    #5
  6. Dazmo
    Offline

    Dazmo Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,768
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yes mate a remap would be needed as would the moving of about 4 or 5 sensors!
    #6

Share This Page