1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DPF problems

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by smudge_don, Apr 15, 2010.

  1. smudge_don
    Offline

    smudge_don Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Apr 15, 2010]
    My car has recently been losing a bit of power and idling at 1,000rpm instead of 800

    I've been told by Audi that this is due to the DPF getting full and the engine needing to work more to burn off the **** that gets caught in it

    Stupid question, but if i get a DPF delete with my custom exhaust system, will this problem be erradicated?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 21, 2014]

  3. robby
    Offline

    robby Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 15, 2010]
    Yep - PF does away with the filter - lots of people doing it on the Seat forums

    I read the filter gets blocked with a lot of short journeys and you should do a longer run every now and then with revs at 2000rpm for several minutes (think that was on the Seat forum?)
    #2
  4. dantdi
    Offline

    dantdi ...

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Apr 15, 2010]
    How many miles has your a3 done smudge_don? Starting to worry about mine now, Not that ive had any problems yet touch wood.
    #3
  5. Mikey
    Offline

    Mikey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 16, 2010]
    afaik I dont think you can just delete your DPF, otherwise you will get all sorts of error codes on dash etc etc? JBS do a dpf delete pipe and custom code software to sort this out, along with appx 220bhp!!
    #4
  6. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    2,358
  7. smudge_don
    Offline

    smudge_don Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Apr 16, 2010]
    Ye that's what i was told, apparently the older DPF models allow it to get full and then it tried to burn it off, whereas the new ones burn off the **** as it goes along so you don't get this problem

    Just shy of 30k now mate, it's not really a problem, it's more of a characteristic of the car apparently

    Contradicted yaself right there.....

    Plus, did you not get that i was going to get a DPF from my 1st post?
    #6
  8. Mikey
    Offline

    Mikey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 16, 2010]
    what I meant was you cant just delete your DPF and thats that, you will get error codes, unless you get some sort of software or vagcom (maybe?) to sort that out. DPF has sensors.

    PS- Was only trying to help you, so be careful how you word your replies to people who try to help you in future.
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2010
    #7
  9. navnayyar
    Offline

    navnayyar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 16, 2010]
    #8
  10. smudge_don
    Offline

    smudge_don Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Apr 16, 2010]
    Getting mine done by AMD next month hopefully
    #9
  11. scottie123
    Offline

    scottie123 (●̮̮̃•̃) (●&# VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 16, 2010]
    Its threads like this that make me glad I got the 140 :icon_thumright:

    Untill I read to the power gain with the DPF delete........

    Get it done now smudge, your wheels deserve it :)
    #10
  12. smudge_don
    Offline

    smudge_don Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Apr 17, 2010]
    I deserve it too :laugh:

    Should be running about 230bhp when it's done with the map :hubbahubba:
    #11

Share This Page