1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

double din to single din.

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Effect, Apr 16, 2007.

  1. Effect
    Offline

    Effect Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 16, 2007]
    I have a double din HU and want to upgrade to an aftermarket unit.
    Which will of course be single din.

    what other bits will i need ?
    I have looked at a few pictures of interiors of S3's and it appears that the models that have single din HU have the climate controls moved up and have something underneath the climate which i cant make out.

    will i need this ?
    will a single din even fit in a double din hole ?


    Thanks
    James
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 20, 2014]

  3. Dave B
    Offline

    Dave B REALITY?.... WHERE AM I AGAIN?.... WHO AM I AGAIN?

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 16, 2007]
    Why not fit a double din aftermarket unit?

    You could fit a double din screen from most of the major manufacturers?>

    Im going to convert to double din from a concert to do this exact thing....

    D
    #2
  4. Effect
    Offline

    Effect Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 16, 2007]
    i already know which HU i am going to buy.

    all the double DIN ones will not suit my needs + they are too expensive.

    If you are going the opposite way to me let me buy all your single DIN stuff off you then problem is solved :)
    #3
  5. mordz
    Offline

    mordz Audi S3 (2000)

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 16, 2007]
    #4
  6. Dave B
    Offline

    Dave B REALITY?.... WHERE AM I AGAIN?.... WHO AM I AGAIN?

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 16, 2007]
    What year do you have? and do you have a picy and whant climate module do you have?
    #5
  7. Effect
    Offline

    Effect Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 16, 2007]
    I will upload pics shortly mine is a facelift 2001 Y reg.

    Do you have a better picture of what you have in your car as i dont know what the thing is below the climate control it just looks polished and black is it a storage compartment ?


    mordz that looks perfect tbh its going to be much easier to buy one of those by the looks of it, except thats for the newer shape audi.
    #6
  8. Effect
    Offline

    Effect Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. Dave B
    Offline

    Dave B REALITY?.... WHERE AM I AGAIN?.... WHO AM I AGAIN?

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 17, 2007]
    it is a storage compartment, in piano black,
    [​IMG]

    Heres the pick (borowed from a guide) :respekt::ermm:
    #8
  10. Effect
    Offline

    Effect Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 17, 2007]
    do you want to sell me your left over bits then ?


    And is it simply a case of moving the cliomate control up and fitting the storage compartment or do other things need doing as well ?
    #9
  11. Dave B
    Offline

    Dave B REALITY?.... WHERE AM I AGAIN?.... WHO AM I AGAIN?

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 17, 2007]
    you need to change the cage structure and the climate unit if you want to do it?
    #10
  12. steve1975l
    Offline

    steve1975l Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 17, 2007]
    No problem.

    I guess you guys could do a deal.
    #11
  13. Effect
    Offline

    Effect Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 17, 2007]
    i cba to change loads of stuff around.

    Is there a facia i can buy that will fit my dash ?

    the one posted earlier in teh thread would be perfect if it was for a pre 2003 S3/A3
    #12
  14. Dave B
    Offline

    Dave B REALITY?.... WHERE AM I AGAIN?.... WHO AM I AGAIN?

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 18, 2007]
    #13
  15. Effect
    Offline

    Effect Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 18, 2007]
    S3
    [​IMG]

    A6
    [​IMG]

    They don't look the same, it doesn't look like it would fit, are you 100% sure that the facia will fit ?
    #14
  16. QUATTRO_REP
    Offline

    QUATTRO_REP Diesel Power!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 18, 2007]
    the a6 looks more tapered than the S3 to me in those pics...couldnt the other one from the 8P be modified slghtly?
    #15

Share This Page