1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Double Din Stereo Pioneer

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by motorsportdays, Oct 23, 2013.

  1. motorsportdays
    Offline

    motorsportdays New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Oct 23, 2013]
    Hi All, hasanyone fitted a Pioneer SPH DA-110 or similar?

    I'm going to attempt mine this weekend along with a mountain of wires andblocks that have been recommend.

    I'm also going to fit a micro bypass so I can use the screen without theparking break but if anyone has attempted this what's your experience of thislike.

    As there is a Antenna, Micro phone, USB lead, Iphone cable and parking brakewire

    Yikes

    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. Artimus
    Offline

    Artimus Short Back

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,893
    Likes Received:
    368
    [Oct 23, 2013]
    I have a Pioneer (albeit mine's the AVIC-F940BT), All AppRadio H\U's wire up pretty much the same way & the secret is to tape up any excess wire into a loop & tuck all your wiring\connector blocks down behind the heating controls, before you insert the stereo into the dash.

    The handbrake bypass is explained in multiple youtube videos.

    You do realise you'll lose the DIS Track\Station info?
    #2
  4. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,554
    Likes Received:
    409
    [Oct 23, 2013]
    a few of us here have Pioneers, i have the 8400bt. i know Digzz has the pioneer appradio 2
    #3
  5. motorsportdays
    Offline

    motorsportdays New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Oct 24, 2013]
    Great thanks all.

    Artimus, I assume the DIS is the pannel on the dash? If so I'm not too worried about that. Only saw there was a speedo there yesterday!!

    However, is it hard to wire a USB to the glove box and wire in the antenna and micro phone?

    Cheers
    #4
  6. willz17
    Offline

    willz17 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Oct 24, 2013]
    I got the pioneer 930bt bypassed handbrake with the help of avic411 forum :)
    however I still need to find a new lead which connects the cars original wires to the aftermarket headunit.
    think I got the incorrect one since only my front speakers work. I know my rears are not blown because they were working with the previous headunit just not with my new pioneer :/
    #5
  7. motorsportdays
    Offline

    motorsportdays New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Oct 24, 2013]
    Well I will find out if i have the right wires but I ordered them from a company who told me what I needed. There is a lot of wires and costs a few quid but here are the Ebay codes if that helps:

    151073369264
    171114950531
    181084091670
    170971119970

    Cheers
    #6
  8. willz17
    Offline

    willz17 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Oct 24, 2013]

    is your car with Bose? Because mine is maybe that's where I have gone wrong?
    #7
  9. motorsportdays
    Offline

    motorsportdays New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Oct 24, 2013]
    yeah mine is Bose too
    #8
  10. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,554
    Likes Received:
    409
    [Oct 24, 2013]
    what year is your car?

    for cars from 2003 - 2007ish (iso connector) - AUDI A3 A4 TT Steering Control Adaptor Phone Button Support CTSAD003.2 Pioneer | eBay

    for later cars (quadlock connectors) - AUDI A3 A4 TT Steering Control Adaptor Phone Button Support CTSAD002.2 Pioneer | eBay

    These are the new connectors that also incorporate the phone button on the MFSW so that you can answer and end calls from the steering wheel.
    with those cables you can easily bypass the parking brake by simply grounding the green parking brake wire and you can also get the reverse signal wire to pickup the reverse gear to allow reverse cameras.

    have done many pioneer installs with these cables, they work with both Bose and non Bose setups.
    #9
  11. willz17
    Offline

    willz17 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Oct 24, 2013]
    mine is 2007 Audi S3 pre-facelift.
    which cable should I buy on next pay check :D
    #10
  12. motorsportdays
    Offline

    motorsportdays New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Oct 28, 2013]
    Fitted everything at the weekend and it's the wrong lead. Apparently this is the right lead as my car has the old wiring 171023897759.

    This might help you guys but happy to post images of my car wiring if that helps you.

    See how I get on this week.

    Cheers
    #11
  13. willz17
    Offline

    willz17 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Oct 28, 2013]
    #12
  14. Strickster
    Offline

    Strickster New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 28, 2013]
    Hi, newbie here, and stumbled on this,
    I have the App Radio fitted to my A3 S-Line, and it turned out quite the b***ache. The Bose amp & speakers are attenuated to the Bose head unit, and as such will cause howling and engine noise through your app-radio. I solved this with some ground loop isolators from Maplins. Made all the difference, but on other matters the head unit is great when working, but the I-Pod connector lead is shocking, always falling out. No experience of the Android lead, which may be better. The software is not up to much tbh, BUT....dont let me put you off, is a great looking head unit, with great features, just a little flaky at times
    #13
  15. Strickster
    Offline

    Strickster New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 28, 2013]
    PS, wire the P/B sensor to a chassis earth behind dash, rather than faff around with P/B microswitch. Although use responsibly obviously !!! :)
    #14
  16. Strickster
    Offline

    Strickster New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 28, 2013]
    PPS, You need the RCB's plugged in to get rear speakers to work, because they are driven by the Bose amp. There are various lead sets on Amazon E-Bay etc, but i used the Audioleads set from Halfrauds.
    Then go into AppRadio sound settings and change settings to reflect.
    #15
  17. willz17
    Offline

    willz17 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Oct 31, 2013]
    #16

Share This Page