1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dont get it...

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by ALPINE, Jul 29, 2008.

  1. ALPINE

    ALPINE Yes its diesel, now cry u lost

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3,096
    Likes Received:
    2
    ok i have today bought a brand new temp sensor as since i have owned the car the temp alwats reads max 70c. it will read 90 when i turn the car off and turn the ignition back on.

    fitting a new sensor i thought this would sort it. quite obviously not. So its either my wireing on the car (which i have checked and it all looks good) or..???????

    im confused.

    secondly i noticed that there is another sensor next to the 1 i just replaced. what is this 1 called and could this the at fault?? i replaced the sensor on the left of the 2. i replaced it with a dark green sensor as recomended by the shop.

    any help please as were driving this car on holiday next month and i would like to get there and back with no dramas.

    thanks
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,694
    Likes Received:
    476
    my car did this when i bought it and it was the thermostat that was shot.

    If you left it sitting at idle after warming it up it would climb up to 90 eventually but while on the move it stayed around 60-70.

    But then if it climbs to 90 immediately after flicking the ignition off and on then i presume theres a fault somewhere. Afaik the sensor on the back of the head feeds the ECU and the dashboard takes its readings from the ECU. i'm not really sure why there is a second sensor there though, i dont remember seeing two on mine.
     
  4. AUDI TURBO

    AUDI TURBO Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    SIMLAR PROB ON MINE. ive replaced temp sender and thermostat and still my gauge runs wild
     
  5. ALPINE

    ALPINE Yes its diesel, now cry u lost

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3,096
    Likes Received:
    2
    ok.. i just bought the 2 pin`ed sensor next to the 4 pin 1 i just replaced.

    2 brand spankin new sensors and it still dont read properly. gotta be my thermostat i think. where are they and are they a bastid to replace. done 1 on a mondeo once and it was a head ache.

    cheers
     
  6. Lee Goodall

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thermostat is just behind the water pump looking up from under the engine and it's in a black plastic housing with two (10mm I think) bolts holding it on. It's a bit of a b!tch to get at but can be done in 30 mins or so.. obviously you'll need to drain the coolant first.

    You'll need a new ring seal too.
     
  7. Z82

    Z82 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    0

    Sounds painful :undwech:
     
  8. auroan

    auroan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    5
    I had the same issue on my V6. Believe me your thermostat is a doddle to change compared to mine.
     
  9. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    You'll know if its the thermostat as if its stuck open then it will reach 90 eventually when idling for 10 minutes. If it still sits at 70 then it can't be the stat.
    What does the temp read on the climate control?
     
  10. ALPINE

    ALPINE Yes its diesel, now cry u lost

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3,096
    Likes Received:
    2
    theres nothing else it can be but the thermostat. every thing else has been replaced! find out 2morrow as the thermostat is being changed..
     
  11. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    But it could actually be a faulty temp guage, long shot I know, but worth checking it against the digital reading on the CC
     
  12. ALPINE

    ALPINE Yes its diesel, now cry u lost

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3,096
    Likes Received:
    2
    vag com`ed it, tis all good!
     
  13. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    Well as you say then it's the only thing left, and luckily a relatively easy job. They had to take the whole front end off my 2.8 to do it.
     
  14. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,694
    Likes Received:
    476
    i didnt buy a new seal for mine and trying to balance the stat and seal on the housing and get it all back up against the waterpump housing without it moving was a bugger. Might be easier with a new seal though as i'd imagine you could push the assembly into the waterpump housing and it would stay there while you get the stat housing into place.
     
  15. Mazza

    Mazza MOnkEy

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    has it worked ??????mine has the exact same problem...done the sensor but no joy!!!
     
  16. ALPINE

    ALPINE Yes its diesel, now cry u lost

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3,096
    Likes Received:
    2
    sorry.. could not get the car done today. (poxy work) i have been assured by many qualified people that the thermostat will be at fault. hope that helps Mazza.
     

Share This Page