1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dogbone mount.

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by millsyd, Aug 26, 2006.

  1. millsyd
    Offline

    millsyd Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    im due to change my dog bone mount a few questions
    1) are they straight forward and easy to do?
    2) can i re use the bolts?
    3) any thing i should do in the way of refitting it specialy?
    thank you.
    #1
  2. madvw
    Offline

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    2
    the only advice i can give from reading up on this is to make sure the engine is supported whilst swapping the mount, and to torque the bolts exactly. Overdoing the tightness can lead to excessive vibration.

    I wouldn't have thought replacing the bolts was necessary though.

    how difficult is it? That'll depend on whether your getting a complete mount with bushes pre fitted or just replacing the bushes in your original mount.
    #2
  3. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,024
    Likes Received:
    1,594
    I'm no mechanic, but did my S3 on axle stands, took about 30 minutes in all.
    #3
  4. Defratos
    Offline

    Defratos You’re Dethpicable!!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had trouble gettin to mine my self (cause of the front anti-roll bar) and I'm no where near a mechanic :uhm:
    #4
  5. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,024
    Likes Received:
    1,594
    I don't remember the ARB getting in the way, maybe the the lower strut brace, I think I used an extension(maybe 2 of them?) on the spanner to get to the bolts over the lower brace?
    #5
  6. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,024
    Likes Received:
    1,594
    I don't remember the ARB getting in the way, maybe the the lower strut brace, I think I used an extension(maybe 2 of them?) on the spanner to get to the bolts over the lower brace?
    #6

Share This Page