1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does the 1.6 FSI Engine code : BLP - Have they got a timing belt or chain ?? :S

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by AntDub, Nov 20, 2009.

  1. AntDub

    AntDub Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    I sent my car in for a new timing belt / cam belt & water pump.. within 1 hour i had a call saying they couldnt do it because its the engine code BLP ? which uses a timing chain as a pose to a belt ?

    Im still not convinced? Is it true ?

    BLP ??

    Anyone :( ?
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. AntDub

    AntDub Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,705
    Likes Received:
    31
    I can indeed confirm with AutoData that it is indeed a chain, bit of a bumber about the problem :-(
     
  5. jb0o

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator
    Site Sponsor Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,661
    Likes Received:
    116
    Is it better or worse to have a chain opposed to a belt?
     
  6. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,705
    Likes Received:
    31
    belts are cheaper to change & quieter, chains are 'supposed' to last longer and need less maintanance.
     
  7. jb0o

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator
    Site Sponsor Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,661
    Likes Received:
    116
    Yeah, I can hear my chains when I start the engine sometimes..
     
  8. FranA3

    FranA3 events moderator
    Regional Rep Gold Supporter Audi A3 Team Brill Red

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,216
    Likes Received:
    303
    hi i know this is a old thread but ive been having the same noise as mentioned in the mk5 link for the past 3 years of owning the car and what everybody on there is saying that the chain and tensioner needs replacing is this true ???
     
  9. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,705
    Likes Received:
    31
    Its not impossible. We have noticed chains are stretching on various cars - micra/almera & 3 cylinder corsa's.
     
  10. FranA3

    FranA3 events moderator
    Regional Rep Gold Supporter Audi A3 Team Brill Red

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,216
    Likes Received:
    303
    i have an audi mind not a jap **** bucket lol just kidding a few people have said it could be the chain stretching any idea how much it is to replace not labour just the parts
    cheers
    fran
     
  11. Sarah's A3

    Sarah's A3 MODERATOR V6 S3 Hybrid
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5,920
    Likes Received:
    30
    The chains are also stretching on the 3.2s. There are a few guys on here that have had theirs changed, not a cheap job.
     
  12. FranA3

    FranA3 events moderator
    Regional Rep Gold Supporter Audi A3 Team Brill Red

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,216
    Likes Received:
    303
    im not supprised with a v6 sarah nothing cheap i bet lol
     

Share This Page