1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does the 1.6 FSI Engine code : BLP - Have they got a timing belt or chain ?? :S

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by AntDub, Nov 20, 2009.

  1. AntDub
    Offline

    AntDub Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 20, 2009]
    I sent my car in for a new timing belt / cam belt & water pump.. within 1 hour i had a call saying they couldnt do it because its the engine code BLP ? which uses a timing chain as a pose to a belt ?

    Im still not convinced? Is it true ?

    BLP ??

    Anyone :( ?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. AntDub
    Offline

    AntDub Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 20, 2009]
    #2
  4. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Nov 20, 2009]
    I can indeed confirm with AutoData that it is indeed a chain, bit of a bumber about the problem :-(
    #3
  5. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    104
    [Nov 24, 2009]
    Is it better or worse to have a chain opposed to a belt?
    #4
  6. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Nov 24, 2009]
    belts are cheaper to change & quieter, chains are 'supposed' to last longer and need less maintanance.
    #5
  7. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    104
    [Nov 24, 2009]
    Yeah, I can hear my chains when I start the engine sometimes..
    #6
  8. FranA3
    Offline

    FranA3 events moderator Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,145
    Likes Received:
    246
    [Feb 1, 2011]
    hi i know this is a old thread but ive been having the same noise as mentioned in the mk5 link for the past 3 years of owning the car and what everybody on there is saying that the chain and tensioner needs replacing is this true ???
    #7
  9. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Feb 1, 2011]
    Its not impossible. We have noticed chains are stretching on various cars - micra/almera & 3 cylinder corsa's.
    #8
  10. FranA3
    Offline

    FranA3 events moderator Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,145
    Likes Received:
    246
    [Feb 1, 2011]
    i have an audi mind not a jap **** bucket lol just kidding a few people have said it could be the chain stretching any idea how much it is to replace not labour just the parts
    cheers
    fran
    #9
  11. Sarah's A3
    Offline

    Sarah's A3 MODERATOR V6 S3 Hybrid Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5,920
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Feb 1, 2011]
    The chains are also stretching on the 3.2s. There are a few guys on here that have had theirs changed, not a cheap job.
    #10
  12. FranA3
    Offline

    FranA3 events moderator Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,145
    Likes Received:
    246
    [Feb 1, 2011]
    im not supprised with a v6 sarah nothing cheap i bet lol
    #11

Share This Page