1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does my SAT NAV need upgrading ?

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by sc00byd00byd00, Jun 17, 2009.

  1. sc00byd00byd00
    Offline

    sc00byd00byd00 Frank and Beans...............

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 17, 2009]
    [​IMG]

    Does it have the latest firmware ???
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 20, 2014]

  3. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 17, 2009]
    No, 650 is latest so would be good to update, what years discs do you have as I have a set of 08 genuine cased dvd's for east & west europe, this will update your unit to 650 straight away.

    You can get firmware alone but not sure if with yours being 550 if the year dvd's you have will work with 650, I'd have to check.

    But of course 08 would have much newer maps, roads, POI etc etc

    Also it would add TMC functionality aswell with the dvd's.
    #2
  4. SmoothAssault
    Offline

    SmoothAssault Will design for mods

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    38
    [Jun 17, 2009]
    Words cannot describe how much I want that DVD/sat-nav setup in my car.

    :drool:
    #3
  5. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 17, 2009]
    Good enough 1st attempt, lol
    #4
  6. SmoothAssault
    Offline

    SmoothAssault Will design for mods

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    38
    [Jun 17, 2009]
    The drool face is a very powerful conveyor of emotion, lol
    #5
  7. sc00byd00byd00
    Offline

    sc00byd00byd00 Frank and Beans...............

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 17, 2009]
    Only have one disc that came with the car, will check tomorrow night which it is.

    So if I update to 650, whats the latest maps I can get ? (And how much) and from where ?

    And whats TMC ???
    #6
  8. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 17, 2009]
    08/09, 09 will cost more, I have a set of both east/west europe 08 dvd's for sale, PM if interested & TMC is a traffic messaging system, advises you of road issues.
    #7
  9. sc00byd00byd00
    Offline

    sc00byd00byd00 Frank and Beans...............

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 18, 2009]
    On the subject of Sat Nav, I have 2 SD Card slots behind the Nav Screen that apparently plays MP3's

    Anybody know what size these slots support upto ? And / Or if its only SD support or if it supports SDHC too ?
    #8
  10. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 18, 2009]
    0550 supports TMC already. I guess your current map is 2007? There isnt much difference at all to the 09 maps.
    #9
  11. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 18, 2009]
    Search button would help you with this as there's been untold threads on this subject, but just for you:

    supports only SD cards not SDHC, you can get away with 4GB cards even though its restricted to between 400-512 files so do you really need 4GB at all as 2GB can handle that many files, your choice.
    #10
  12. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 18, 2009]
    SD only. Audi quote 512MB as the max but mine worked just fine with 4GB SD cards. However there is a max file limit per card of 512 per card, so sadly you cant fill each card. The RNS-E will only read the first 512 files it finds.
    #11
  13. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 18, 2009]
    Based on the image he supplied then it would indicate he doesnt have TMC capability in that state as the DVD enables this aswell.
    #12
  14. sc00byd00byd00
    Offline

    sc00byd00byd00 Frank and Beans...............

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 18, 2009]
    I clicked on the "info" button whilst trying to familiarise myself with it the other night and it looks like the traffic thing has worked in the past ???
    #13
  15. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 18, 2009]
    Well thats cool, was that image with ignition on or off mate cause TMC should go solid if its working cause removing dvd turns of as I just tested for you, this is why I question Isaac's comments even though he may very well be correct, but strange as dvd is in so should be on.
    #14
  16. sc00byd00byd00
    Offline

    sc00byd00byd00 Frank and Beans...............

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 18, 2009]
    I think ignition was off.

    Bizzare thing though was I was trying to work out how to erase the recent destinations list, and and the traffic announcments. They all seemed to be around where the previous opwner used to live, no recent ones local to me :(
    #15
  17. Woorlord
    Offline

    Woorlord shifting to Hyperspace... . VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Jun 18, 2009]
    [TMC] takes a while to lock in and read the data off the FM tuner.
    Sometimes it will be there straight away other times a delay - even during driving this can change on-off-on depending where you are.
    This is my experience with the 2007 and 2009 DVD.
    :happy:
    #16
  18. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 18, 2009]
    Scooby turn on ignition & see if TMC goes solid, wait for couple minutes aswell incase, mine takes about 30 secs to 1 min to show up on 09, I assume its a genuine dvd & what year is it, printed on DVD
    #17
  19. BahnStormer77
    Offline

    BahnStormer77 BahnStormer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,604
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Jun 18, 2009]
    sc00by - the previous owner may have swapped DVD's back (i.e. bought the 2009 version for himself earlier this year and then when he sold the car, pulled that out to sell it and simply sold the car on with the older satnav DVD).
    #18
  20. sc00byd00byd00
    Offline

    sc00byd00byd00 Frank and Beans...............

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 22, 2009]
    Just found out that the TMC is enabled and that i only have the 2007 DVD in my car :(

    Looking into it a little bit more, whats the difference between the RNS-e and the MMI ?

    I notice that mine boots up saying MMI but looking at some DVD's on e-bay, apparently they are RNS-e compatible but not MMI ?

    I was sure that mine wes RNS-e ?? Thats what the manual says that came with the car.
    #19
  21. BahnStormer77
    Offline

    BahnStormer77 BahnStormer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,604
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Jun 22, 2009]
    MMI is just what they have on the splash screen.... some people have "RS4", etc.... it's 99% that it's the RNS-E with the usual MMI splash screen (mine has the same).
    #20
  22. sc00byd00byd00
    Offline

    sc00byd00byd00 Frank and Beans...............

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 29, 2009]
    Hey all.

    Managed to get a 2009 DVD off ebay, a genuine ono too and the guy even took my 2007 DVD in as part ex ;-)


    Another question though, does anybody know the supporting folder structure of the MP3's on the SD cards ?

    I've fitted x2 2gb SD cards and both are filled with several albums etc......

    Trouble is, the RNS-e will only ready about the 1st 5 folders to display on-screen, after that, its a case of scrolling down to the last track of the last available album, selecting it and then clicking on the "next track" button ??


    :think: :think: :think: :think:
    #21
  23. BahnStormer77
    Offline

    BahnStormer77 BahnStormer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,604
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Jun 30, 2009]
    okay - lots of fiddling around to get to grips with getting the files just "right" for RNS-E....

    top tip: use M3u files and locate them in the root of the SD card - as this sppeds things up massively!

    And one of the guys on the forum wrote RNS-E file manager!! (which was stopped in BETA stage, but is still very usable - once you've rememebr what crashses it!)

    Here's something from "BenW123":
    "It is still available for download, although I haven't updated it in around 2 years! Go to http://sourceforge.net/projects/rnse-mp3-mgr/. It works on all Windows variants except Vista. Unfortunately I lost interest in the project, despite trying to drum up interest and feedback from other users. I might get back to it one day because there was loads more I wanted to do.

    ...The folder and filenames mustn't exceed 64 characters if memory serves, and the application handles this for you.
    "

    There are a few features in the application that cause it to crash and it's not very good at saving where you were.... but I find that dragging and dropping folders onto the applications and then sending the files to the SD card will check the file names and create an M3U playlist file in the root... then you can manually delete the folder entry out of the app and repeat.

    Application only checks for disk space on the SD card and does NOT check for the limit on the number of "units".... it seems that the RNS-E will only read the first 400 entries out of the FAT table and mp3 files, m3u files AND FOLDERS all add to this tally...

    Also, you can use 4Gb SD cards (note NOT 4Gb SDHC cards!!) - about £7 from picstop.co.uk... you still have the 400 (approx) unit limit, so it jsut menas you can have the same number of songs, but at 320kbps :D
    #22
  24. sc00byd00byd00
    Offline

    sc00byd00byd00 Frank and Beans...............

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 30, 2009]


    Cool. Just downloaded that app so i'll have a play with that this weekend ! ;-)

    Cheers
    #23
  25. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 30, 2009]
    I know everything else but didnt know the track list file would speed up the rns, thanks for that, learn something new everyday.
    #24
  26. BahnStormer77
    Offline

    BahnStormer77 BahnStormer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,604
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Jun 30, 2009]
    NHN - all I know is I used to have each of the M3U's in separate folders (with the MP£'s) on a 4Gb SD card full of music and it used to take AGES to scan the card.... then I reformatted the contents of the M3U files so they'd work from the root (and dumped all of them in the root, but the music still in the folders) and it'd finish the "Loading...." stage a lot more quickly.
    #25
  27. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 30, 2009]
    Hey whatever works, lol, I'll try it later.
    #26

Share This Page