1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does my A/C need a top up

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by jolly14, Apr 12, 2011.

  1. jolly14
    Offline

    jolly14 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 12, 2011]
    Hello guys,

    With the warmer weather coming up i tried my aircon and found that it was not coming out very cold from the center vent but quite cold from the 2 by the doors, i had the aircon re-gassed about 20 months ago so would you think that there maybe a problem or it just needs topping up.

    Cheers Jay
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Jan 25, 2015]

  3. quattrojames
    Offline

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,946
    Likes Received:
    497
    [Apr 12, 2011]
    If it's cold from the two outer vents but not the centre one that would lead me to thing it's more likely that the mechanism of vent temp control has come adrift somewhere.
    #2
  4. jolly14
    Offline

    jolly14 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 12, 2011]

    Thanks James but forgive me for being a bit of a div but what does that mean and is this gunna cost me wedge.

    Cheers Jay
    #3
  5. hades-
    Offline

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,186
    Likes Received:
    585
    [Apr 12, 2011]
    may need a new flap motor as james said
    or it may be stuck remove glove box mess with your cc unot see ehat ones work and dont
    then either free is off or replace
    easy to do
    #4
  6. jolly14
    Offline

    jolly14 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 12, 2011]
    So its gunna be an easy fix then ................nice 1 or are you pulling my leg and its the whole dash out to fix lol

    Cheers Jay
    #5
  7. hades-
    Offline

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,186
    Likes Received:
    585
    [Apr 12, 2011]
    very easy glove box out thats it
    you may have to buy a new motor not sure on price i got 3 used ones for 20 quid
    oh and there colour coded so easy to find a replacement
    #6
  8. quattrojames
    Offline

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,946
    Likes Received:
    497
    [Apr 12, 2011]
    Stand at the back of the car, and systematically remove all components until you reach the dashboard.

    OR

    Lie in the footwells (you might need to take the glovebox out) and look behind the aircon unit, you'll see lots of multi coloured rods 3-4 inches long, like the picture below:

    With the car running, move all the climate buttons (fan/temp/vents etc) one at a time and note which rod moves with what function - then make sure they're all moving correctly as they should do. If not then often the motor which drives each one is knackered, cost about £70 or maybe half that from an ebay broker.

    I'm not saying that's definitely your problem, but worth a look first. Or VAGcom it.

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2011
    #7
  9. jolly14
    Offline

    jolly14 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 12, 2011]
    :thumbsup:I knew i could count on you lot

    Jay
    #8
  10. Turkster
    Offline

    Turkster Bro.Paul 2.5TDI Quattro Sport

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,794
    Likes Received:
    43
    [Apr 12, 2011]
    Ok, now what ?

    [​IMG]
    #9

Share This Page