1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dodgy front door electrics, help needed.

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by AndymacA4, Apr 5, 2009.

  1. AndymacA4
    Offline

    AndymacA4 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 5, 2009]
    Hi all, I have noticed a weird electrical glitch with my front passenger side door.

    The speakers work, the door locks and unlocks as it should, but the door doesn't show as open on the info. system, and the interior light doesn't come on when the door is open either.

    Also the door edge red warning marker light has stopped coming on.

    Anyone had experience of this problem, or any ideas of where the dodgy connector is likely to be?

    My Alfa Romeos all had the door switch in the car body. The Audi has no switch in the door jam so I guess it is in the door somewhere.

    I'll need to fix it as I assume the alarm won;t register if the door is opened unless the interior sensors pick up movement now. All other doors front and rear working fine.

    Any help appreciated.
    Ta

    Andy
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. 1wheelonly
    Offline

    1wheelonly cabriolet VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,060
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Apr 5, 2009]
    andy,
    if it helps i had a aerial fault on my car once and found it to be a breakdown in the wire inside the rubber sleeve between the car body and the boot, this could possibly be the same for you between the car and the door, try fiddling/wiggling around with it a bit to see if you can make a contact with a dodgy wire, if it does then the dis would display the door open once a good contact was made, even if you only got a quick flash then youd know that the fault was there.
    worth a try untill someone more knowledgable comes along mate!
    #2
  4. a4 2.4 se
    Offline

    a4 2.4 se V6

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 6, 2009]
    You have an faulty switch . the switch is built into the lock , poss try spraying wd40 in the lock . i have the same fault on my rear door its work ok now

    paz
    #3
  5. AndymacA4
    Offline

    AndymacA4 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 6, 2009]
    Sweet, many thanks, will go spray it lots, can you see anything of the switch without taking the door to bits? Is there a bit you can manually poke with a screwdriver to get it moving again?

    Ta

    Andy
    #4
  6. a4 2.4 se
    Offline

    a4 2.4 se V6

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 6, 2009]
    No you need to have door to bits
    #5
  7. AndymacA4
    Offline

    AndymacA4 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 6, 2009]
    Lovely, I truely hate taking doors to bits, I always forget to put something back!
    #6

Share This Page