1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dodgey dash!

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Sulli79, May 20, 2014.

  1. Sulli79

    Sulli79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    37
    My tacho is adding extra miles, the Speedo seems correct, but the miles aren't right.
    For my 60 mile journey to from work, it comes up just shy of 90 miles.
    Anybody had this?
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,784
    Likes Received:
    204
    Broken speedo drive/sensor maybe ??
     
  4. Sulli79

    Sulli79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    37
    Maybe, I don't notice any difference with the Speedo though, seems the same on GPS as it always has??
     
  5. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,571
    Likes Received:
    640
    has it changed to KM or something? 60miles is 96km...

    Seems somewhat random?
     
  6. Sulli79

    Sulli79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    37
    VERY random!!! Still says miles next to the trip counter. Maybe the processor has had a melt down.

    New clock time?
     
  7. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,571
    Likes Received:
    640
    maybe try killing the power for half hour and see if that resets it? Unplug the cluster or remove the battery etc?
     
  8. Sulli79

    Sulli79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    37
    Worth a go
     
  9. @udi A3

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,777
    Likes Received:
    177
    Probably corrupt clocks.
     
  10. Sulli79

    Sulli79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    37
    Disconnected the battery, left it, then put it back, for about a mile and a half it only went up .2 miles, then seemed to go back to normal, but when I checked the miles it still did 80 miles instead of 60. All the time the Speedo seems to read correctly.

    Does anybody overhaul the complete cluster, or is this new clock time
     
  11. @udi A3

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,777
    Likes Received:
    177
    I have several used units in stock, depending on your part numbers etc i may be able to offer a replacement. Has anybody attempted to program a spare key or correct the milage? This happened to me once when i used the wrong tool for a job, was an easy fix as i had a backup.
     
  12. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,571
    Likes Received:
    640
    I guess if you found another set of clocks with the same part number, you could try flashing the eprom from the spares onto your faulty ones and see if that fixed it?
     
  13. Sulli79

    Sulli79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    37
    Nothing abnormal has happened recently, about 4 months ago the rev counter stopped working for about a day but been fine since.

    All keys were programmed about 3 years ago, mileage hasn't needed correcting as still original clocks, not been out of the car in the 3 and a half years I've had it
     

Share This Page