1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

do your indicators flash??

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by ALPINE, May 19, 2008.

  1. ALPINE

    ALPINE Yes its diesel, now cry u lost

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3,096
    Likes Received:
    2
    when you lock and unlock your cars. pre 2000 more so.

    i have been informed that mine should flash.

    they dont and im know wondering why.


    cheers:kissmyrings:
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Randomjim

    Randomjim Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,752
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes, twice when you unlock and once when you lock.
     
  4. Markey

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes mine do as well.
     
  5. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User Audi A4 quattro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13,020
    Likes Received:
    394
    1998 and she is a flasher :sorry:
     
  6. jcb

    jcb Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,122
    Likes Received:
    13
    1999, yes as above.
    you have a faulty door or bonnet closure sensor.
    they don;t flash when one or more doors are not fully closed
     
  7. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,665
    Likes Received:
    474
    mine doesnt flash, but its a '96 and doesnt have remote locking either. The alarm just makes a single hoot when you lock it (with the key obviously) and thats it.
     
  8. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    Mine flashes - think you can switch it on/off with VAGCOM.
     
  9. olds_kool

    olds_kool Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    8
    does your pump part number end in 'A' dont think these flash, ive messed about with pumps converting my old car to remote c/l, found a pump with 'G' part number but when i connected vag-com it turned out to be an 'A' with the wrong back on it, resold it as 'A' but couldnt get it to flash, just beep which is annoying
    if door or bonnet sensor was faulty alarm would go off ?
     
  10. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,665
    Likes Received:
    474
    if door or bonnet is open it simply doesnt beep, once the door/bonnet gets closed it beeps and the alarm arms. Obviously if it was broken it would never beep and never arm

    I'll go check the central locking pump now to see what its part number ends in. What exactly did you need to convert your car to RCL?

    edit: Ok ive looked in little doors in both rear arches and cant see the damn pump! Any ideas where i can find it without dismantling the car? will vagcom tell me the part number if i hook it up?

    cheers
     
  11. olds_kool

    olds_kool Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    8
    vag-com will give part no, pump is in offside rear cubby in my avant, its wrapped in foam, check pump early cars have different single outlet pumps(4A0 p/n), possibly not meant to flash? if your p/n starts 8lo/8do its the twin outlet and in theory you could convert to r/c/l, swap pump for one ending in 'G' get correct twin button fob and code to pump, (key needs coding to start car but pump does rest)tested on my old 98 a4 but range was very poor
     
  12. RICH2JOSH

    RICH2JOSH Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    You need to look in the rear right hand side of the boot. Take a away the side panelling where the cd pocket is to reveal a foam wrapped black box which houses the pump.

    I have just realised that yours is an Avant which may be different from a saloon version but its worth a try.

    Rich
     
  13. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,665
    Likes Received:
    474
    there is a little door on each side for access to the lights etc.

    the offside rear has the screenwash bottle for the rear wash wipe and storage for the triangle... There is a grey block of foam just behind the lights, perhaps 6-7" high and about 4" wide, is that the pump? i should probably just connect the vagcom up and check it out.
     
  14. jcb

    jcb Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,122
    Likes Received:
    13
     
  15. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,665
    Likes Received:
    474
    well ive just been out again

    the vagcom simply couldnt talk to the controller ("cent Locking") and i removed the big rubber strap holding the foam in and removed it, its a single outlet 4A0 pump :(
     
  16. Siena

    Siena Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm converting my '96 2,6 QS to OEM RCL.

    I've already fitted the later handles, glove box lid, and ignition barell, so I have the flip-type, 3-button fob.

    I'm going to buy the later twin-vacuum pump, and possibly the wiring harness, as it has the aerial for the receiver.
     
  17. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,665
    Likes Received:
    474
    why did you change the handles glovebox etc?

    whats needed to get the later pump working and hooked into the body ecu that vagcom works with?

    I'd probably give this a go, just not sure why youve changed the doors and ignition barrel etc?
     
  18. Siena

    Siena Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    4
    The later handles only accept the HAA-profile key.

    Although, the earlier one had a similar HAA-profile key blade, it changed from the earlier AN / AH type around July '97.

    My car is a '96, so it was all the older type key. My ignition barell was the older AH-profile key type, and of course, the glovebox lock matched.

    You'll have to do the same on your car, as it's a '96 model. The keyholes are totally unsuitable for the later flip-type keys.

    My lockset is from a 2000-spec S4, with the matching keys.
     
  19. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,665
    Likes Received:
    474
    Right. I noticed my Keys say HAA on them but if this is different to the later HAA keys then fair enough.

    If i was to get the later keyset, i presume i'd need to have the key programmed to the ECU's immobiliser? Can i do that with vagcom? Also will the later keysets fit the prefacelift doors etc?

    I presume i'd require a keyset from after 97.5 but before 99.5?

    How exactly does the new pump and wiring loom connect to the car? is there a nice "plug me in here" socket or would i need to crack out the soldering iron. The wiring isnt particularly scary for me i just want some idea of what i'm doing!

    once its wired in does the vagcom ecu system just notice that its appeared and happily start chatting to it?
     
  20. Siena

    Siena Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    4
    If your keys say HAA, then no need to change your locks / handles.
     
  21. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,665
    Likes Received:
    474
    well thats a bonus :) so i presume then i'd need to get a flip key or two from ebay and have them cut with my cars profile?

    Have you looked into whats involved with actually swapping the pumps over? or is it just a case of digging out the wiring diagrams and soldering everything in the right place?
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. naefeart_A4

    naefeart_A4 Bonkers

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mines a 99.5 and it flashes when you lock/unlock (the door pins too) but it certainly doesn't beep.

    N
     

Share This Page