1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do top mounts need to be changed on suspension kit?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by sharma, May 19, 2008.

  1. sharma
    Offline

    sharma Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 19, 2008]
    When changing to a new suspension kit do the top mounts need to be changed? Also how much difference will it make to the price?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. Ian W
    Offline

    Ian W Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    7
    [May 19, 2008]
    About £30 for the mounts and bearings, worth doing while there apart.
    #2
  4. Stewart
    Offline

    Stewart Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    7
    [May 19, 2008]
    I don't know if this is true of all S3's but mine never needed doing and the front struts came off 3 times in 20k miles and were checked every time...

    The Seat and Skoda guys always seem to be going on about fecked top mounts...

    Mind you, I always keep my eyes peeled for pot holes and sunken grids/covers so maybe I just drive sympathetically...
    #3
  5. ruairi83
    Offline

    ruairi83 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    39
    [May 19, 2008]
    any diagrams of top mounts is this the ones where a strut brace would go?
    #4
  6. jonS3
    Offline

    jonS3 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 19, 2008]
    mine were fooked, well worth doing...
    #5

Share This Page