1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

do I need to run in a new turbo?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by marlowA3, Aug 29, 2011.

  1. marlowA3
    Offline

    marlowA3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 29, 2011]
    Hi, I had a new turbo on my 2.0 tdi do I need to take it steady n run it in for a certain amount of time?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. FranA3
    Offline

    FranA3 events moderator Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,145
    Likes Received:
    246
    [Aug 29, 2011]
    yes you do i was always told to run a new one in and let it warm up before booting it but that was a petrol car same should be on a tdi i would have thought mate
    #2
  4. marlowA3
    Offline

    marlowA3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 29, 2011]
    that's what I always thort cos you do with a petrol
    #3
  5. FranA3
    Offline

    FranA3 events moderator Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,145
    Likes Received:
    246
    [Aug 29, 2011]
    supposed to let it cool down like a petrol too for a minuite
    #4
  6. Minstadave
    Offline

    Minstadave Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Aug 29, 2011]
    I think he means does he have to do a certain number of miles taking it easy with a new turbo like you would with a new car. IE not thrashing it for the first thousand miles.
    #5
  7. FranA3
    Offline

    FranA3 events moderator Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,145
    Likes Received:
    246
    [Aug 29, 2011]
    read post number 2 i said yes lol
    #6
  8. marlowA3
    Offline

    marlowA3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 29, 2011]
    yea like do I need to do 1000 miles steady?
    #7
  9. gary3306
    Offline

    gary3306 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    27
    [Aug 29, 2011]
    Just drive steadily, not aggressively for a while. That'll be enough to ease it into its new role. Have you fitted it yet? Or are you about to? If you haven't, then make sure you 'prime' the turbo with new oil before you fit it.
    #8
  10. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
    [Aug 30, 2011]
    Its good practice to let any turbo warm up and cool down old or new....not sure about a running in procedure on a turbo, its only pre oiled bearings? as said above its vital to pre oil the turbo on fitting...
    #9
  11. marlowA3
    Offline

    marlowA3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 30, 2011]
    its been done, I traveled about 100miles so far I usually let them warm n cool anyways
    #10
  12. devonmikeyboy
    Offline

    devonmikeyboy As far from JBS as possible !

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Aug 30, 2011]
    There is no way to "run in " a turbo as there is no surface to surface contact of metal parts.
    #11
  13. chrissy1502002
    Offline

    chrissy1502002 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Aug 30, 2011]
    Agreed with devonmikeyboy, no need at all to "run in" a turbo. It is however good practice to warm it up and cool it down.

    My dad had three turbos fitted under warranty on his BMW M-Sport 5 Series and was told exactly the same. (Thankfully hes got rid of it and got a AMG 2.2 twin turbo Mercedes E Class now :eyebrows:, I felt shamefull driving the BMW :rulez:)
    #12

Share This Page