1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

do i need a remap after engine rebuild

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by tdi-man, Feb 22, 2013.

  1. tdi-man
    Offline

    tdi-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    48
    engines had new head fitted and new piston rings shells etc etc

    do i need to get it remapped again ?

    thanks
    #1
  2. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep.

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,735
    Likes Received:
    494
    if you had a map it will still be there in the ECU
    #2
  3. Bramley
    Offline

    Bramley Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    7
    Well surely your engine will run better now so you'd have thought you'd possibly be able to get more out of it now - so id suggest yes.
    maybe wrong tho
    #3
  4. tdi-man
    Offline

    tdi-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    48
    lol i know that just wonder if i need it checking
    #4
  5. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep.

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,735
    Likes Received:
    494
    it wont need checking
    rebuilding engine wont change the map.
    #5
  6. Bramley
    Offline

    Bramley Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    7
    Of course the map hasnt changed but in theory the engine has
    #6
  7. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep.

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,735
    Likes Received:
    494
    unless its a full on custom map it would only be the ame if it was reflashed
    #7
  8. tdi-man
    Offline

    tdi-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    48
    it is a custom map with a hot start fix in the map and i was wonder if the hot start probelm was down to the fact that the cracks in the head are in the glow plug holes
    #8
  9. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep.

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,735
    Likes Received:
    494
    dont worry about it
    so you have a stage 1 remap
    i ment a full on big turbo stage 3 custom map
    it will be ok
    #9
  10. tdi-man
    Offline

    tdi-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    48
    i do have a hybrid turbo with full egr delete
    #10
  11. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep.

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,735
    Likes Received:
    494
    so i take it you still have ther same set up nothings changed
    then you should be ok
    but by all means spend some money for the fun of it
    when i had my stage 3 rebuilt with new cams and head both times the map was still the same
    #11
  12. tdi-man
    Offline

    tdi-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    48
    #12
  13. TDI140
    Offline

    TDI140 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,378
    Likes Received:
    140
    Map is programmed to ecu so should be all there but worth getting it tweaked for your new built engine as all components are new and will be working much smoother that way you might get more bhp
    #13
  14. Boon
    Offline

    Boon Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    46
    You say you had a hot start map done so was the hot start rectified with this?

    I also have had a hot start map replaced/tweaked and mine has been brilliant, neither the starter or battery has been changed. (Anyone with a hot start issue should unplug the temperature sensor located under the fuel pump when at operating temperature and start the engine - if it fires up just as cold, the starter nor the battery are at fault - it's the software in the ECU)


    Oh, and your Remap will stay on the ECU, I fail to see that getting it tweaked because the engine is rebuilt will bring any gains (apart from being stronger/last longer!) Just remember to 'run it in'!
    #14

Share This Page