1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do I have DRL's? 2004 S-Line with OEM Xenons (non-LED)

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Joe90k, Feb 3, 2010.

  1. Joe90k
    Offline

    Joe90k Speed doesn't Kill!

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hello,

    Does anyone know if I will have DRL's? I have a 2004 TDi with factory fitted Xenons, will there be DRL's in there? If so how do I turn them on (If they aren't already?) (I know they are not LED's but after reading on a few sites it seems that some people do)

    Cheers,
    Joe
    #1
  2. Joe90k
    Offline

    Joe90k Speed doesn't Kill!

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    3
    Oh good point to mention, I'm not being lazy my car is a few hundred miles away lol

    Joe
    #2
  3. davej_anderson
    Offline

    davej_anderson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    do you have a drl switch on your headlight switch? it should be a simple 1 or 0 scrolling switch
    #3
  4. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,461
    Likes Received:
    558
    I would very much doubt it. I had DRL's in my 2007 A3 with OEM Xenons but not with my 2004 A3. As has already been said - No DRL switch, No DRLs.
    #4
  5. Dandle
    Offline

    Dandle Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    1
    If they are normal xenons(just low beam) then you wont have DRLs as the inner headlight lens will be used for your high beam. If they are bi-xenon both you low and high beam are from the outer projector lens and the inner one will have a large bulb and be used for DRL, you will have the switch mentioned above then. I dont think bi-xenon was an option on the 2004 cars so you probably dont have drls.
    #5
  6. PH1L
    Offline

    PH1L Gievf Buckets

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    39
    you can always program drls with vagcom, though i think thats fogs only
    #6
  7. Joe90k
    Offline

    Joe90k Speed doesn't Kill!

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    3
    I can make the fogs turn on as DRL's? How do I do that? Not sure I'll leave it on but I'll have a look.

    Cheers
    #7

Share This Page