1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DO I have BOSE ?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by lgooch, Aug 27, 2010.

  1. lgooch
    Offline

    lgooch Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    680
    Likes Received:
    50
    [Aug 27, 2010]
    I have an A3 Sportback Sport with lots and lots of factory extras on it. (07 Plate)

    I was giving the car a good detail today and was vaccing out the boot with the stereo on. I stuck my head in the boot and the bass was really intense and seemed to be coming from the nearside panel in the boot area.

    I have the Symphony II+ stereo which is a 6 CD Changer (MP3) but none of the speakers have the little bose badges on them.

    Does anyone know if you have a sub, you must have BOSE or did Audi do a non BOSE system which came with a sub in the boot.
    I havent peeled off the panel yet as it looks a swine to remove, but there is definitely something back there.

    I must say it does sound pretty good, albeit the wife moans that it defeaning our little one !
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 20, 2014]

  3. Pii
    Offline

    Pii Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 27, 2010]
    I was under the impression that you could have a sub without BOSE.
    #2
  4. jungleman
    Offline

    jungleman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    42
    [Aug 27, 2010]
    same here, and am pretty suer tehy would have bose on the speaker covers

    when you crank up the music, can you hear music coming out of teh center of the dash as the bose has a speaker there as well?
    #3
  5. lgooch
    Offline

    lgooch Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    680
    Likes Received:
    50
    [Aug 27, 2010]
    Honest ?

    If you can then thats another extra someones paid for on the car without me knowing before I bought it - BONUS !

    I suppose I need to lift the trim out of the boot and take a peek !
    #4
  6. razor123
    Offline

    razor123 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 27, 2010]
    Don't all A3's have a sub in the boot? Bose is just an upgrade, slightly better sub??
    #5
  7. Pii
    Offline

    Pii Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 27, 2010]
    I think the Symphony with inbuilt 6 CD changer model definately came with the extra rear speakers and the sub but none of which are BOSE without a further upgrade.
    #6
  8. lgooch
    Offline

    lgooch Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    680
    Likes Received:
    50
    [Aug 27, 2010]
    to be honest - If this is not BOSE, then why bother. I think it sounds excellent. Far far better than my mk5 golf. the stereo in that is shoot compared to the audi
    #7
  9. Lee_R
    Offline

    Lee_R Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Aug 27, 2010]
    Unless you get the really low spec A3, all of them come with a sub! Mine has the low spec single DIN concert and it comes with sub.

    Also if you have BOSE, it will say so on the stereos LCD display when you turn it on.
    #8
  10. VWAddict
    Offline

    VWAddict Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Aug 27, 2010]
    ALL A3's sold in the states have a sub. There are two types of sub: BOSE and non-BOSE.

    Since I hod that BOSE's slogan should not be "Better sound through research". but instead "Better profits through marketing", I don't care for the BOSE system. You'll never find BOSE equipment in an even halfway-decent recording studio, for example.

    Nobody spent any extra... the concert 2+ drives front speakers, and the rear speakers and sub are handled by a
    separate amplifier pack. That's how it came from the factory.

    If you had a BLOWS system, it would say so on the radio screen on power-up. In addition, the speaker grilles would also announce the fact.

    Keith
    #9
  11. LWNY
    Offline

    LWNY Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 27, 2010]
    The svc people at the dealer knocked one of my grill's Bose logo loose the last time I was there. Should I go back to get it fixed so that I could keep up my car's BLOWSE status, thus its resale value?
    #10
  12. Pii
    Offline

    Pii Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 27, 2010]
    BOSE won't necessaily show BOSE on the stereo guys. My one didn't but I read here that it's just coding on vagcom.

    LWNY I would get them to fix it - irrespective of the quality it is still a feature of the car you wish to resell.
    #11
  13. LWNY
    Offline

    LWNY Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 27, 2010]
    Yeah, that is the least of the prob, I saw some light keying on my hood, keying around the key area in the driver's door and some small paint chips (let alone the grease mark in my car, steering wheel and spilled drinks by the ashtray area).
    #12
  14. Pii
    Offline

    Pii Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    1
  15. VWAddict
    Offline

    VWAddict Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Aug 27, 2010]
    It's just logo coding... as well as preset EQ settings. That's all.

    Keith
    #14
  16. sub39h
    Offline

    sub39h Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Aug 27, 2010]
    if you don't have BOSE then it's no great loss tbh. i've had it in both my cars and as a no-work-required sound system it's ok. but if you want good sound it doesn't matter when you have BOSE or not cos you'll be changing the whole lot anyway.
    #15
  17. S3 MRU
    Offline

    S3 MRU Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Aug 28, 2010]
    Where is this so called sub located in the rear of the a3? i have a 53 plate single din concert sport model.. will my a3 have a bass speaker?
    #16
  18. Pii
    Offline

    Pii Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 28, 2010]
    In the boot - passenger side covered by carpet. Turn up the volume, open the boot and put your hand onto the side wall to see if there is any pressure. If you cant feel or hear anything then you don't have it.
    #17
  19. netr
    Offline

    netr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 29, 2010]
    But it is more likely your speaker is broken or disconnected. I haven't seen an A3 8P without a bass speaker in the back...

    I don't have Bose, but I have the center speaker in the dash... :)
    #18
  20. lgooch
    Offline

    lgooch Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    680
    Likes Received:
    50
    [Aug 29, 2010]
    Seems like I may have opened a can of worms !

    You dont need to feel the side of the car inside the boot. Just stick your head in, youll know if you have a working sub as the bass just reverberates
    #19
  21. VWAddict
    Offline

    VWAddict Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Aug 29, 2010]
    I have a centre speaker and a sub, and NO BOSE also...

    BOSE - Brand marketing. Don't buy in.

    Keith
    #20
  22. LWNY
    Offline

    LWNY Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 30, 2010]
    That thing is the side of the trunk is not a subwoofer, but a submidrange. But for the brits that are content with 6" woofers in their main speakers, they probably wouldn't be missing much.
    #21
  23. GConn
    Offline

    GConn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 30, 2010]
    I think BOSE is a very good system, at least in the A3. I would buy it again.
    In order to find out which extras your A3 has, open the boot, lift the liner. You will find a sticker with a lot of codes, which indicate which extras your car came out of the factory with.
    #22
  24. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Aug 30, 2010]
    Its mostly down to the head unit. I had a symphony II and it was superb with BOSE but after changing to an RNSE the sound quality is very poor compared to the symphony. And yes i did wire the BOSE back in with the RNSE. Peoploe are quick to blame BOSE for sound quality but if you have an rnse then the sound quality is never going to be as good as a Symphony what ever your amp set up.
    #23
  25. andykn
    Offline

    andykn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 30, 2010]
    I can't find a code for Bose. Mine has it, I have the speaker logos and the Bose pin into the back of my Concert II+ but I've put all my codes into:

    http://igorweb.org/equidec/Default.aspx

    And they all seem to be recognised but none as Bose.
    #24
  26. GConn
    Offline

    GConn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 31, 2010]
    I'll try out your link later in the afternoon when I go home, as I have BOSE too.
    #25
  27. lgooch
    Offline

    lgooch Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    680
    Likes Received:
    50
    [Aug 31, 2010]
    I think the Symphony II+ without the BOSE sounds excellent. Best standard stereo I have heard in a car that doesnt cost over 30K
    #26
  28. VWAddict
    Offline

    VWAddict Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Aug 31, 2010]
    I too have converted from Symphony to RNS-E, and I have to disagree completely with your statement.

    I think that LWNY also converted to RNS-E; along with several others... You're the ONLY person I've ever encountered who makes this assertion.

    Keith
    #27
  29. LWNY
    Offline

    LWNY Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 31, 2010]
    I did convert from Symphony II to RNS-E, can't say sound quality change is much better. Its like saying Bose Accoustic Mass sounds better than their clock radio. The only major thing I noticed is that Audiopilot sound modification on the RNS-E was more noticeable.
    #28
  30. lgooch
    Offline

    lgooch Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    680
    Likes Received:
    50
    [Jul 3, 2012]
    I have just gone from a Symphony to RNSe Bose set up and quite frankly the non Bose system in my other A3 sounds miles better.

    The BOSE just sounds so flat. No real huge bass or treble.
    #29
  31. VWAddict
    Offline

    VWAddict Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Jul 3, 2012]
    Bose.

    "Better sound through marketing"

    Branding.

    Don't buy in.
    #30
  32. The Governor
    Offline

    The Governor Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    65
    [Jul 4, 2012]
    My 2011 BE has Bose and it's pretty cack. I've even started to consider it might be faulty, but these sorts of qualititive judgements ould be impossible to demonstrate to a dealer.

    Speaker distortion listening to speech, weak bass and muddy trebles.

    I have said before on here, my 2009 E90 3 series had the standard business edition stereo and it was 100% better than the A3 Bose.
    #31
  33. PaulAr
    Offline

    PaulAr S3 (8P)

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,065
    Likes Received:
    179
    [Jul 4, 2012]
    Definately sounds like a problem.

    I had the stock BMW system on my 2010 320 with Professional Nav just a few month back and the sound quality was very poor compared to the BOSE I have now on a 2012 S3. It distorted like hell when cranked up, however the rest of the system (Hard drive, Nav etc..) was fantastic and made the RNSE seem prehistoric.

    Im sure the A3/S3 BOSE isnt the best out there but it is appreciably better than a stock 3 series system and indeed previous MK5 Golf Gtis with stock systems I have owned.

    The only `similar` thing I can compare it to is an A5 with B&O and that was very good, although not to the point where my BOSE system sounded poo when I got back into the car.

    Paul
    #32
  34. The Governor
    Offline

    The Governor Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    65
    [Jul 4, 2012]
    I have no faith that something as subtle as sound quality will be possible to appreciate, my experience of techs is that they can't even diagnose the most obvious of faults, let alone sound quality issues!
    #33
  35. audicruiser
    Offline

    audicruiser Audi Heaven

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    46
    [Jul 4, 2012]
    What year is your car?
    #34
  36. PaulAr
    Offline

    PaulAr S3 (8P)

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,065
    Likes Received:
    179
    [Jul 4, 2012]

    "...they all do that Sir..."
    #35
  37. lgooch
    Offline

    lgooch Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    680
    Likes Received:
    50
    [Jul 4, 2012]
    2012. It is 2 week old
    #36
  38. rOb_A
    Offline

    rOb_A Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,488
    Likes Received:
    63
    [Jul 4, 2012]
    Goochy lad, the Bose in my BE has lots of bass. seems weird all of the RSNe/Bose issue, its like a black art science that no one understands :think:
    #37
  39. Artimus
    Offline

    Artimus Short Back

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,892
    Likes Received:
    368
    [Jul 4, 2012]
    Very happy with the volume & quality of my BOSE system. As an OEM fitment it's one of the best I've heard. Those that say it sounds 'Flat' either haven't adjusted the basic 3 band EQ (on a Concert II+), are playing poor quality media or maybe there's an issue with it.

    It may not be after-market - shake the neighbourhood - Boom Box loud, but it's more than enough for high levels & quality Treble & deep rumbling Bass.
    #38
  40. audigex
    Offline

    audigex Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    41
    [Jul 4, 2012]
    You'll never find anyone trying to record an album in an Audi A3, either. Horses for courses and all that.
    #39
  41. The Governor
    Offline

    The Governor Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    65
    [Jul 5, 2012]
    I have adjusted mine, and my sources are a minimum of 256k MP3's delivered via AUX or the CD. I don't listen to drum 'n' bass, more like Elbow, Starsailor, Seth Lakeman, in other words music where dynamic range is more important than when listening to dance music.

    Mine definitely cannot handle that sort of music very well, as I also said, listening Radio 4 can be a bit raspy at times, depending on who is talking.
    #40

Share This Page