1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do Audi sale Replacement coil pack harnesses

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by dre_S3, Aug 31, 2012.

  1. dre_S3
    Offline

    dre_S3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    3
    finally found my problem with the car holding back me thinks

    IMGP0266.jpg

    do audi sell these harnsses in one or separate, im also im crap with electrics is it hard job ? is it cut and join or will it go straight to the ecu ?
    #1
  2. Greg-S3
    Offline

    Greg-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ring Milton Keynes TPS on 01908 625000 and ask for Mat, he is a very knowledgable bloke he will know all about if you can get sections etc and if comes as one piece and so on mate. Hope that helps!
    Or maybe try a auto electrician as they may be able to repair the damaged loom and make a good job of removing the plug and re joining the wires and plugs etc! Hope that helps
    #2
  3. Golfer1991
    Offline

    Golfer1991 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Awesome gti sells them ;)
    #3
  4. Andrew@A.L.D
    Offline

    Andrew@A.L.D Cylinder Head Master

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,504
    Likes Received:
    3
    if you have a level sensor in the sump then you need 1J0 971658 M the loom wires differ in colour but if your careful you should have a problem
    #4
  5. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,726
    Likes Received:
    20
    Audi do sell looms but they are generic ones from all the ones I have seen... they are more like a3 looms than s3 ones... I fitted one to mine recently and just cut the wires and soldered the new ones on.... here is the bit in my build thread...
    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/a3-s3-...9-my-minor-modding-thread-40.html#post1625906

    It not a comprehensive guide but you get the idea... I didn't buy the loom with the sensor as all I wanted to change was the coil pack part... worked out a bit cheaper that way...

    <tuffty/>
    #5
  6. dre_S3
    Offline

    dre_S3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    3
    How much was the harness mate and what was the part number Tuffty
    cheers mate

    Dre
    #6
  7. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,726
    Likes Received:
    20
    Part number should be the one Andrew posted earlier and was around 20-30 quid... can't remember the exact price as I get trade from TPS anyway but budget for that..

    <tuffty/>
    #7
  8. dre_S3
    Offline

    dre_S3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    3

    Ok mate just been up TPS to get my clutch pedal and there have ordered me a harness it was around £30 so hopefully get it within the week thanks for your help :)
    #8
  9. dre_S3
    Offline

    dre_S3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    3
    Anyone know what the harness from awsome gti is like? it goes straight to the ecu but can it be cut ?
    #9
  10. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,726
    Likes Received:
    20
    I would imagine its the same as the OEM mate... if its a wire it can be cut ;P

    The OEM one is supposed to go to the ECU too...

    <tuffty/>
    #10
  11. dre_S3
    Offline

    dre_S3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ok thanks Tuffty May just order it from them as tps have to get it from Germany could be up 2 weeks :(
    #11
  12. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,726
    Likes Received:
    20
    !!! they must have run out then... fairly typical though...

    <tuffty/>
    #12
  13. dre_S3
    Offline

    dre_S3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yeah just ordered one from awsome just need to get someone to fit it as my soldering skills are not that good lol
    #13
  14. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,726
    Likes Received:
    20
    Make sure its a fairly powerful soldering iron for the thicker power cables else you will get bad resistive joints causing other issues...

    [​IMG]

    <tuffty/>
    #14
  15. dre_S3
    Offline

    dre_S3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yeah think I will let a pro at it, can't be dealing with more problems if I muck it up
    #15
  16. AG205
    Offline

    AG205 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did mine recently, lopped out the cracked wiring as far back as needed and just spliced the new coil connectors/earth in via soldered and heatshrunk joints. Just did one wire at a time to make sure everything went back in the same place and jobs-a-good'un. I used the loom from Awesome GTi (ECS Tuning sourced) and it arrived in a proper VAG box which was reassuring although it's certainly not plug and play on the S3 unfortunately.

    All my coil connectors where broken and the thicker wires were cracked pretty badly so definitely needed doing.
    #16

Share This Page