1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

displaying fault codes

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by bobtooke, May 11, 2006.

  1. bobtooke
    Offline

    bobtooke New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    On my mate's TT he can display fault codes and system info such as oil pressure, oil temp etc on the climate control readout display by a simple combination button press of the climate buttons.
    Can you do something similar on an A3 Sportback TDi?
    #1
  2. bobtooke
    Offline

    bobtooke New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    No-one ever heard of this then?

    or am I just being thick?
    #2
  3. Eeef
    Offline

    Eeef Lord of War

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    heard of it, but I thought it was only available on earlier models? could be wrong. There's normally some muppet on ebay trying to sell this sort of info...
    #3
  4. RobB
    Offline

    RobB Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    You could do this on the old A3 models and TTs but not aware it can be done on the new A3.
    #4
  5. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    #5
  6. benw123
    Offline

    benw123 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    1
    Interesting - my old Focus ST170 could show diagnostic data as well. When turning on the ignition, you used to hold down the trip odometer reset and you could cycle through various readouts.

    Perhaps the 8P doesn't have it because they'd rather you visit a dealer for any fault diagnosis. There's enough knowledge these days on car enthusiast forums like this to cover just about anything! :)
    #6
  7. TuffLittleUnit
    Offline

    TuffLittleUnit Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    They took the feature off the 8P model because the log kept getting flooded with the message "Need more oil".
    #7
  8. marriedblonde
    Offline

    marriedblonde Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4,371
    Likes Received:
    3
    #8

Share This Page