1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Disable ECU via VAGCOM

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by S3 TAM, Sep 10, 2010.

  1. S3 TAM

    S3 TAM Pocket now empty

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    10
    Hi,

    Just wondering if you can do this. so you can't start the car even with the key.

    Just think about when i go away i can disable the car completely.
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. thegoal007

    thegoal007 Another S3 owner....

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    26
    Even if you could do this with VGACOM I would be in fear of not being able to bring it back to life !
     
  4. s3 Hoggy

    s3 Hoggy Whats going on???

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    112
    I take it you don't have a Revo remap then mate?
     
  5. S3 TAM

    S3 TAM Pocket now empty

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    10
    No I don't I think I need one.
     
  6. s3 Hoggy

    s3 Hoggy Whats going on???

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    112
    What about if u were to pop the coilpacks out? 5min job?
     
  7. gavin89

    gavin89 Wana go Low gotta go Slow

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disabling the ECU is a bit extreme? South East London is that bad eh lol

    You can take the battery out :p
     
  8. sportstractor

    sportstractor Chugger

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,713
    Likes Received:
    33
    haha that is nuts. Cant you rent a rotweiler to guard it for you

    maybe pull out fuel pump relay? Although some of these criminals are cleverer than we think.
     
  9. s3dave

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,114
    Likes Received:
    736
    my APR software disables the ecu...but like said its a bit extreme to disable it ...there are plenty of things to do to immobilise it...pull the fuel pump fuse...
     
  10. aham_uk

    aham_uk Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you have the SKC, you can tell the immobilser that there is no keys for the car (via instruments 17).
    No matter if you leave the key in the car, it wont work.
     
  11. jojo

    jojo Looking for Boost!
    Staff Member Moderator Team Daytona quattro Audi A6 Audi Avant Owner Group Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    28,459
    Likes Received:
    3,219
    How do you restart it afterwoods? Since you need the ignition to be live for Vagcom to work, or does that part of the car stays active?

    I'd just jack the car up, remove 2 wheels and put some bricks under, then it won't be going anywhere! lol
     
  12. gavin89

    gavin89 Wana go Low gotta go Slow

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    No you dont need keys in the ignition to scan and operate module 17 instruments, it is set to be always active.
     
  13. jojo

    jojo Looking for Boost!
    Staff Member Moderator Team Daytona quattro Audi A6 Audi Avant Owner Group Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    28,459
    Likes Received:
    3,219
    Cool.
     
  14. Lemon S3

    Lemon S3 Alex

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,372
    Likes Received:
    28
    What about using a kill switch?
     
  15. gavin89

    gavin89 Wana go Low gotta go Slow

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe you need one of those kits...:rock:


    [​IMG]
     
  16. sportstractor

    sportstractor Chugger

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,713
    Likes Received:
    33
    the simplist answer is to park it somewhere secure.
     
  17. DJ_Troopa

    DJ_Troopa K1 Driver

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,744
    Likes Received:
    14
    Take the Forge DV off. If i was a thief and stole an S3 in limp mode i'd be pi$$ed :laugh:
     
  18. JDover

    JDover Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    lol, on top of the battery on that little bar with the electrical connections on is the main live for the fuel pump.. take the 10mm bolt off and put a rubber washer underneath. don't ask how i know but it works a treat :)
     
  19. DaveA3

    DaveA3 Audi A-Trizzle!

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,374
    Likes Received:
    15
    is it an AGU? if so u could unplug the ignition amplifier then it wont start at all
     
  20. Lemon S3

    Lemon S3 Alex

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,372
    Likes Received:
    28
    Was playing with Vagcom earlier n saw a 'transport mode'. Does this turn the shock sensors off on the alarm or does it make the car undriveable?
     
  21. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,047
    Likes Received:
    1,617
    You know these were real aswell in South Africa, aswell as a briefcase with the same feature cause of so much carjacking.

    The plate shows for Gauteng Province which includes Joburg, where it was rife.
     

Share This Page