1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DIS Retro-fit Question

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by NickR85, Sep 5, 2009.

  1. NickR85
    Offline

    NickR85 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am looking to install the DIS to my 2004 1.9TDI 130 sport, I am just wandering how much it would cost, what parts i would need (do i have to buy all the different sensors etc) and where is the best place to get the parts?

    Cheers
    #1
  2. BahnStormer77
    Offline

    BahnStormer77 BahnStormer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,604
    Likes Received:
    14
    I think it's about £150 inc parts and labour to get HazzyDayz (vwcruise.com) to do it... plus £80 if you want the washer bottle sensor... you can probably negotiate a bit off that if you want to get cruise control or anything else that needs the wheel off / instruments out....
    #2
  3. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    NickR85 is your car a saloon or an avant?? cos if its a saloon i have a wiper stalk which looks as new you can buy off me for £40 inc P+P as i am an idiot and have an avant car which needs the stalk with the rear wash wipe controls.

    PM me if your interested
    #3
  4. Garfie
    Offline

    Garfie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    From what I have been told you just need the DIS wiper stalk and vag-com to activate it. A pin on the instruments also needs to be grounded or you get a low washer fluid warning, if not fit the washer level sensor and wire that in too.
    #4
  5. BahnStormer77
    Offline

    BahnStormer77 BahnStormer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,604
    Likes Received:
    14
    think there was a little DIS module too...
    #5
  6. no_idea
    Offline

    no_idea Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is correct;)
    #6
  7. no_idea
    Offline

    no_idea Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is this little DIS module you refer to? I have never heard this mentioned before (apart from you anyway)
    #7
  8. Niknak
    Offline

    Niknak Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I had my DIS upgraded it was only the new stalk and VAG.com that was required.
    #8
  9. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    No extra module is required - just the wiper stalk with the trip computer buttons and some re-coding of the existing SCSM, and dealing with the washer level low warning (either by wiring it to ground or adding the level sensor to the reservoir).
    #9
  10. no_idea
    Offline

    no_idea Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree Dave, it's just that Lostbok has mentioned this a couple of times now and I was after some clarification, as if it is not correct it could mislead others.
    As I said I have never heard of this 'extra module' and when I did mine it was exactly as you have said.
    #10
  11. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    I can only think that he is referring to having to change the SCSM - since it's possible that not all versions of the SCSM can be coded for the DIS in the same way that some versions of the SCSM cannot be coded for cruise and/or MFSW.

    But that's a module replacement, not an extra module...
    #11
  12. NickR85
    Offline

    NickR85 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds like a plan mate, would you be happy enough to post?

    Also does anyone know the number for the water bottle sensor and part number?

    Cheers

    Nick
    #12
  13. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    Sorry NickR85,

    Had a PM a couple of days ago from another guy on here who wants the wiper stalk so as he contacted me first i am gonna let him have it.

    Although if you PM a user on here called Marc1 i think he has a saloon version he is selling too so you should be able to cut a deal with him.

    This : http://www.tyresmoke.net/forum/audi-a4-s4-cabrio/68576-retro-fitting-dis-cruise-a4-b6.html is the link to the thread over on tyresmoke which has alot more details on the retrofit you should find part numbers there.

    Hope that helps
    #13
  14. Marc1
    Offline

    Marc1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    726
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yep, I've got a saloon version up for grabs. Same price if you're interested.
    #14
  15. no_idea
    Offline

    no_idea Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    I posted this on page 14 of the thread you have a link to above:

    Hi, I have just installed both dis and cruise to my A4 avant. All went fairly well, thanks to all those who have contributed here. Doing the last bit of coding can be a bit nerve racking when all the lights are flashing on the dash. When I installed my washer bottle sensor wire I managed to route it down one of the existing large rubber boots into the passenger foot well without too much trouble. I bought the plug, along with the correct connectors, that fits into the sensor, this makes it a very neat job. I picked up an earth using one of the bolts that holds the washer bottle in place, it saves having to run two wires into the footwell. The part numbers are:
    Washer bottle sensor: 7M0 919 376
    Contact Housing (plug): 1J0 973 202
    Connector Wires: 000 979 009A
    Connector Wires: 000 979 133A
    I can't remember which of the wires are for the sensor plug and which are for the connector on the instrument cluster, but as you need one of each of these anyway I don't suppose it matters. If you haven't seen these wires before they are just a short length of wire with a connector crimped on each end. You cut it and join up to it. I soldered my connecting wire and then put a piece of heat shrink over the top".

    Hope it helps
    #15
  16. Garfie
    Offline

    Garfie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think the DIS module that Lostbok is referring too is the steering module that has to be replaced when fitting cruise. From what I have read the module is needed if fitting cruise (and DIS as most people do both) but not DIS on its own.
    #16
  17. BahnStormer77
    Offline

    BahnStormer77 BahnStormer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,604
    Likes Received:
    14
    Ah - thanks for that Garfie... I was having both done at the same time, so you could WELL be right!

    It just feels like there's a whole separate unit under there when you scroll through: Sat Nav, Off, Trip 1, Trip 2 (and then scroll up and down on the "Trip 1" and "Trip 2" options for range, avg speed, avg mpg, instant mpg, etc)
    #17
  18. technics100
    Offline

    technics100 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    12
    I'm going to have a go at this. Does someone have a link to the actual vag-com coding needed just for doing the DIS install. I have found lots of different things, but most relate to cruise etc. I don't have cruise or MFSW, so just want to add DIS. Do I just remove the steering wheel and replace the stalk, then recode in vag-com? I also need to ground Pin 1 on the display cluster.

    Cheers
    #18
  19. Garfie
    Offline

    Garfie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    technics100, as far as I know to just get DIS that's all you need to do. Have not got round to it myself yet as was shocked at the £70 the stealers wanted for the stalk!!

    Do note that there are 2 different stalks, the saloon one, and the avant one which has rear wiper controls on it too.
    #19
  20. Marc1
    Offline

    Marc1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    726
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a saloon stalk if anyone is interested :)
    #20
  21. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    Technics100,

    You are defo getting the saloon version as I bought it for my Avant by accident (have another one on the way). As long as you already have cruise control i believe its a straight swap as that is what i have already and others have done and been successful.
    #21
  22. technics100
    Offline

    technics100 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    12
    I don't have cruise control!!! I will give just the DIS install a go and see if it works. I found this info about getting a new code to enable it.

    http://ade2ade.googlepages.com/a4-cruise-coding

    Hopefully it will be ok... Anyone else have specific vag-com info regarding the DIS install
    #22
  23. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    useful little coding link that technics good find.
    #23
  24. BILKO1
    Offline

    BILKO1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    +1
    #24
  25. technics100
    Offline

    technics100 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    12
    OK, I have just finished installing DIS in my car last night, all seems to be working well. No real problems at all. It took about 2 hours total, this included the grounding of Pin 1 too. I followed the instructions from the tyresmoke thread;

    Below is a quick summary of any changes / problems I had.

    To remove the lower steering wheel cover I had to use a screw driver as I didn't have a torx bit small or thin enough to fit. Airbag unscrewed easily but I was a bit wary of pulling the plug off the back, I prised it off with a screw driver. I unclipped the steering angle ring and installed the DIS stalk and re-fitted everything. I didn't need to remove the underside of the dash as I had enough room around it to work. Then I removed the clocks and unplugged them, I opened my old wiper stalk and used the wee pin to insert into position 1 of the blue plug, I then grounded this to a nut behind the dash. refitted the clocks and reconnected the battery.

    When I started the car I got the ESP light on, scanned with vag-com and got a few errors.

    18010 - Power Supply Terminal 30: Voltage too Low
    P1602 - 002 - Lower Limit Exceeded - Intermittent
    01044 - Control Module Incorrectly Coded
    35-00 - -
    01826 - Sensor for Steering Angle (G85): Supply Voltage Terminal 30
    35-00 - -
    01317 - Control Module in Instrument Cluster (J285)
    49-10 - No Communications – Intermittent
    01616 - Signal Wire to Interior Monitor
    49-10 - No Communications - Intermittent
    00955 - Key 1
    35-10 - - - Intermittent

    I cleared the power supply error and signal wire to interior monitor and Key 1 errors as I think these are just because the battery was disconnected.

    I went in and recoded the Control module from 01001 to 01011 which I found from this website.

    http://ade2ade.googlepages.com/a4-cruise-coding

    I have 3 spoke steering wheel, no tiptronic, DIS no cruise and a saloon. That generated the code. This then cleared the Control module error code.


    I then went into section 17 in vag-com and did the following

    17-Instruments]
    [Adaption-10]
    Channel 19
    [Read] (Make a note of the 'Stored Value')
    Change the stored value to enable DIS according to the table below

    My existing code was 30100, I’m not sure what this meant but I changed it to the following. (section D of above Link)
    Remote clock: Remote clock not active (don’t know what a remote clock is, I don’t think I have it)
    Ambient Temp: Display & illumination active
    Driver Information System: DIS 1 (suggested)
    Board Computer: Level 1 & 2
    Illumination: Needle active at ignition on

    This generated the code 11010 which the car accepted and a small 1 appeared on my DIS, that was it fully working with trip 1 & 2

    This only left was the ESP light on and the steering angle error. I drove the car 20 metres up the road to centre the wheel and performed the calibration as found here.

    http://www.ross-tech.com/vag-com/cars/steeringangle.html

    The lights went off and I have DIS.. Woo Hoo.. I did a full auto-scan and it found no errors..

    Any questions just ask..
    #25
  26. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    Good Work technics!

    good to know the instructions work and you have made it to full DIS.

    Vrbob
    #26
  27. technics100
    Offline

    technics100 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    12
    yeah, its not too hard and good to get it done. Only thing I have noticed is that when I hit the reset button to go from 1 to 2 then from 2 to 1 again, it turns the DIS off so I need to hit it again to go back to 1. Is that normal?

    I just found my control module code, is this compatiable with cruise?

    Control Module Part Number: 8E0 953 549 S
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2009
    #27
  28. no_idea
    Offline

    no_idea Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes that is normal. It enables you to turn it off completely if you so wished. Also if you have RNS-E fitted you would be able (once coded correctly) to see the turn directions in the dis, if you have a route planned, if not street name and compass directions.
    It's a good little mod. you have just done and not all that expensive to do. Well done mate. What's next!!??
    #28
  29. technics100
    Offline

    technics100 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    12
    Thanks, Just need Xenon's and rear parking sensors.. Thats me done... hopefully.. PS. I don't have RNS-E I'm afraid... concert CD player for me :-(
    #29
  30. Garfie
    Offline

    Garfie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Excellent write up technics100, thanks for that. Makes me want to get my DIS even more now.

    I think I'll try and rig the screenwash sensor up too though when I do mine
    #30
  31. technics100
    Offline

    technics100 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    12
    No problem.. write up for washer sensor, just if your lazy.. I might do it at some point if i'm bored!!

    Washer Sensor.

    1. Remove passenger front wheel
    2. Remove wheel arch liner completely
    3. Hole for sensor is located at base of reservoir, should be plugged, remove plug and allow to drain.
    3. Used Spade terminals to connect wire to sensor, (I used speaker type wire so both ends will be run into cabin)
    4. Seal the connections using silicon to ensure no water ingress and rout cable though top of wheel arch.
    5. There as a large grommet to the right of the suspension that already has a large cable going through with a small "nipple" above and below where the cable goes through. Snip the end off and feed the cable through.
    6. Inside the car I removed the glovebox to gain access to the grommet which ou should hopefully see the cable sticking through. (left of the blower housing)
    7. Pull all excess cable through before refitting the inner arch cover and replacing wheel. (Check for leaks first!)
    8. Route twin cable to drivers side and run one end to earth and the other to pin one behind the speedo as described earlier in the posts!
    9. Put all the car together again and hey presto no warning light ( So long as you have filled with water!!)

    Hope this is of use to someone! Let us know if you have any problems. Takes about 1 hour in all and you will need a torx screwdriver for the screws that hold the arch lining in and an 8mm socket to remove the glovebox!

    Parts

    Washer bottle sensor: 7M0 919 376
    Contact Housing (plug): 1J0 973 202
    Connector Wires: 000 979 009A
    Connector Wires: 000 979 133A
    #31

Share This Page