1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DIS keeps displaying Service Due?!

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by K-Dash, Jul 23, 2008.

  1. K-Dash
    Offline

    K-Dash Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 23, 2008]
    As title, my DIS displays that I need a service only a week after I have reset it. I had a service in February by a specialist?.

    Anything I can do or that needs doing to stop this coming up.
    #1
  2. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jul 23, 2008]
    Pull out on the mileage reset button for 10-15 seconds with the engine running and it will reset your service interval to 1 year or 15000 miles.

    If you should be on a flexible service interval (744 days or 34000 miles) then you can change it from the fixed interval to flexible with VAGCOM.

    Pulling out on the dial will remove the warning light and put you on the fixed interval for now and you can decide about the VAGCOM bit later.
    #2
  3. K-Dash
    Offline

    K-Dash Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 23, 2008]
    Thanks Marc,

    So i'll need to plug it into vag com to really sort it out.

    Cos curretnly it resets to 800miles or there abouts and then notifies me everytime i start the car how long I have left.
    #3
  4. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jul 23, 2008]
    Pulling out on the mileage reset dial should sort it. I did this on my last A3. Check your user manual for "service reset" and it should tell you how to do it without VAGCOM.

    VAGCOM will do the reset for you. I did two resets at the weekend - one on a MkV GTi and one on an 8N TT.
    #4
  5. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jul 23, 2008]
    Just checked my user manual.

    On page 15 it says the following:

    1) Turn on ignition, a spanner symbol will then appear (in the mileage display)
    2) Pull the button (mileage reset) to activate reset mode
    3) Pull the button once more until "---" is shown in the display. The display switches out of the reset mode if you do not pull the reset button within 5 seconds.

    That should sort you out.
    #5
  6. K-Dash
    Offline

    K-Dash Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 24, 2008]
    I'll try that one more time.
    If it is (again) only a temporary and short lived fix then I'll get my brother to plug me in to his workshops vagcom.

    Thanks Again.
    #6
  7. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jul 24, 2008]
    Using the above method is a permanent fix. The manual says to use that method if you get your car serviced in a workshop that does not have access to the Audi computer system.

    Like I said, I did it on my previous A3 and it worked first time.
    #7

Share This Page