1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DIS installed but 2 queries

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by vwgtiking, Jul 11, 2013.

  1. vwgtiking

    vwgtiking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    991
    Likes Received:
    8
    I have posted in retrofit but no-ones seems to reply there so I will post here to.

    I have managed to install the DIS wiper stalk and enable it with vcds. I have the washer warning as expected but I am testing the buttons and nothing is happening? Is this because the washer warning is preventing it?

    Secondly I know which pin 1 to ground on the back of the cluster with the blue plug however just read about it and I need repair wire? Can I not use normal wire I have laying about. Also where can I ground it? Any pics?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Dan TheMan Welburn

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    23
    The patch wire is not a must, you can use a standard wire i believe, id double check the coding as ive had warning on for months since i fitted DIS (never got round to fitting ground wire) and always been able to use its functions with buttons,
     
  4. vwgtiking

    vwgtiking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    991
    Likes Received:
    8
    The was 30100 and I tried 30200 which it didn't like then I did 30000. Should all clusters show various info.
     
  5. vwgtiking

    vwgtiking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    991
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yeah I havent done coding under steering.
     
  6. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    625
    • 0?xxx: Steering Wheel
      • 0 = Standard (without Multifunction)
      • 1 = 3-Spoke Steering Wheel (Sport Steering Wheel)
      • 2 = Multifunction Steering Wheel with Radio Control
      • 3 = Multifunction Steering Wheel with Radio/Telephone Control
      • 4 = Multifunction Steering Wheel with Radio/Telephone/Voice Control
      • 5 = Multifunction Steering Wheel with Radio/Voice Control
    • 0x?xx: Options
      • +1 = Tiptronic
    • 0xx?x: Board Computer & Cruise Control
      • 0 = Board Computer & Cruise Control not installed
      • 1 = Board Computer installed
      • 2 = Cruise Control installed
      • 4 = Board Computer & Cruise Control installed
    • 0xxx?: Rear Wiper (Chassis)
      • 1 = Rear Wiper not installed (Sedan/Cabriolet)
      • 2 = Rear Wiper installed (Avant)
     
  7. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    625
    03011

    if you have mfsw and saloon ?

    what steering wheel do you have and saloon or avant ?
     
  8. vwgtiking

    vwgtiking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    991
    Likes Received:
    8
    Saloon 3 spoke
     
  9. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    625
    01011

    there u go
     
  10. vwgtiking

    vwgtiking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    991
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hi bez. Thanks. under steering or instruments in vcds. What should it be under both?
     
  11. vwgtiking

    vwgtiking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    991
    Likes Received:
    8
    Perfect. Was 01001 now 01011 under steering and under instruments was 30100 now 30000 or 31000 if you want 2 memories but I never use the life to date one. Thanks bez!!!
     
  12. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    625
    and you can use any wire for the washer warning
    as b6 dont usaly have anything in pin 1

    when you have the dash out you will see a 10mm you can ground to
     
  13. vwgtiking

    vwgtiking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    991
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ok thanks again bez. Clocks look easy enough to remove.
     
  14. Audi Doodah

    Audi Doodah Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    35
    Memory 2 gives a more accurate mpg if you reset it each fill up
     

Share This Page