1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DIS Error Symbol

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by gaz_hughes, Feb 24, 2006.

  1. gaz_hughes
    Offline

    gaz_hughes GumbyGaz

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 24, 2006]
    Hi,

    The other day, I got the brake light symbol pop up on my dash reporting a faulty bulb. So replaced it, but now i'm getting this symbol everytime I turn ignition on....

    [​IMG]

    Now to me it looks like brake warning, low pads etc. Is this correct?
    Just seems strange it's happened at the same time my bulb warning came one, coincidence?.
    I looked in the manual and couldn't find this symbol (I'm expecting somebody will post a page number of the manual and i'll look a complete fool /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/crazy.gif ) only the one the same as the picture with the broken bulb in the middle and the red one with an ! in the middle.

    So do I need my brakes doing? Or has the DIS having a bit of fun?

    Cheers

    Gaz
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 21, 2014]

  3. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 24, 2006]
    Indeed, tis brake pads. But you'll have a fair few miles left in them.
    #2
  4. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Feb 24, 2006]
    yes, it is the brakes, though they probably have loads of life left in them. I'd give them a visual inspection to see how worn they are as these lights can come on fairly premature.
    #3
  5. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Feb 24, 2006]
    lol, your a quicker typer than me HTC
    #4
  6. gaz_hughes
    Offline

    gaz_hughes GumbyGaz

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 24, 2006]
    Wow, fast response!

    Cheers guys! Will get them looked at in due course then, got a few things to do so that'll be added to the list for a weekend.

    Don't suppose there's a way of turning it off so you can see Radio/Track Listings again or not?

    Thanks again!

    gaz
    #5
  7. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 24, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    lol, your a quicker typer than me HTC

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Great minds and all that. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #6
  8. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 24, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]

    Don't suppose there's a way of turning it off so you can see Radio/Track Listings again or not?


    [/ QUOTE ]

    You can unplug the sensor if you really want to. Bit cowboy tho.
    #7
  9. gaz_hughes
    Offline

    gaz_hughes GumbyGaz

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 24, 2006]
    Hummm... I think I'll leave it then.

    Cheers though and cheers all for such quick responses!
    #8
  10. madvw
    Offline

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Feb 24, 2006]
    can't you press the button below the speedo to clear the warning?
    #9
  11. dickys3
    Offline

    dickys3 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 24, 2006]
    I think you can just press the button on the stalk to get rid of it.
    #10
  12. Grant
    Offline

    Grant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    60
    [Feb 24, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Wow, fast response!

    Cheers guys! Will get them looked at in due course then, got a few things to do so that'll be added to the list for a weekend.

    Don't suppose there's a way of turning it off so you can see Radio/Track Listings again or not?

    Thanks again!

    gaz

    [/ QUOTE ]
    If you replace your brake pads, you'll soon see your Radio/Track listing! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif
    #11
  13. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Feb 25, 2006]
    is the sensor a seperate clip in part or is it integrated into the pads? I dont have sensors on mine but its easy to see through the wheel with my alloys.
    #12

Share This Page