1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DIS Display

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by andy203, Feb 26, 2014.

  1. andy203
    Offline

    andy203 181 BHP

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    56
    [Feb 26, 2014]
    In relation to the 'DIS' display on the dash, is there a default display? I.e Clock or whatever. If not what display do the majority of people have displayed assuming that it's not displaying a route via Sat Nav system. If you have input a route/destination into the Sat Nav, does the 'DIS' automatically change to the route display?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 22, 2014]

  3. Schizophonic
    Online

    Schizophonic Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    52
    [Feb 26, 2014]
    Yes, with sat navigation enabled your dis will switch to Sat navigation view by default.

    As for me I need a constant reminder about my average miles per gallon
    #2
  4. andy203
    Offline

    andy203 181 BHP

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    56
    [Feb 26, 2014]
    Thanks for that info, the average MPG would drive me crazy, is there a default setting when sat nav not in use?
    #3
  5. andywil13
    Offline

    andywil13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    42
    [Feb 26, 2014]
    I have the DIS showing my fuel stats most of the time.

    If I am navigating I have the DIS showing the route until I actually need the map, leaving the main screen for music most of the route
    #4
  6. Mike071288
    Offline

    Mike071288 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    21
    [Feb 26, 2014]
    Mines is on digital speedo with average mpg underneath or miles to empty if I'm low on fuel.
    #5
  7. Simonrich
    Offline

    Simonrich New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Feb 26, 2014]
    I also have digital speedo with smaller instantaneous mpg at the bottom or miles to empty when fuel gets low.
    #6
  8. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,551
    Likes Received:
    730
    [Feb 26, 2014]
    Digital speedo & average journey MPG for me
    #7
  9. JohnnyM100
    Online

    JohnnyM100 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    173
    [Feb 26, 2014]
    +1
    #8
  10. Itguy
    Offline

    Itguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    432
    [Feb 26, 2014]
    I want to get my S3 plugged into VCDS so I can get my oil temp at the bottom when I've got the digital speedo up.
    #9
  11. oufc1976
    Offline

    oufc1976 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    80
    [Feb 26, 2014]
    What actually gets displayed on the DIS when in Sat Nav mode? Just an arrow and distance?
    #10
  12. STERLING VOID
    Offline

    STERLING VOID Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    21
    [Feb 26, 2014]
    I am in the Fuel Efficiency setting most of the time.

    SatNav would be cool if I had the option, will this be available with an after market system?
    #11
  13. PDA3
    Offline

    PDA3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Feb 26, 2014]
    With regard to the pop up display, can this show speedo and mpg?
    #12
  14. cuke2u
    Offline

    cuke2u Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    1,872
    Likes Received:
    375
    [Feb 26, 2014]
    No....
    #13
  15. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,551
    Likes Received:
    730
    [Feb 26, 2014]
    No, you get all the junctions/roundabouts displayed as you approach them, and a bar which decreases as you approach it (so you know distance to go), and some other info
    #14
  16. oufc1976
    Offline

    oufc1976 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    80
    [Feb 26, 2014]
    Nice! Sad as it sounds, this is one of the things that I'm most looking forward to using. Never had a Sat Nav before. And certainly not an integrated solution. Very slick!
    #15
  17. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,551
    Likes Received:
    730
    [Feb 26, 2014]
    The junction display in the DIS isn't as good or as accurate as the one on the main screen. If there is an odd shaped roundabout/junction, or the roads go off at weird angles, it isn't really shown in the DIS. The main screen shows the actual shape of the roads though.
    #16
  18. Andy1608
    Offline

    Andy1608 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    168
    [Feb 27, 2014]
    Mines is on digital speedo with average mpg underneath or miles to empty if I'm low on fuel.
    #17
  19. Joetidman
    Offline

    Joetidman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    729
    Likes Received:
    371
    [Feb 27, 2014]
    So you can choose two different readouts on the DIS? Or does it just rotate through a variety of options?
    #18
  20. Itguy
    Offline

    Itguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    432
    [Feb 27, 2014]
    It has different screens which you can then select different things on. Most screens allow you to have a small section at the bottom which allows you to scroll through one item at a time of the trip computer, mpg etc
    #19
  21. coolguy
    Offline

    coolguy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Feb 27, 2014]
    +2
    #20
  22. illingworth22
    Offline

    illingworth22 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Mar 1, 2014]
    I have the Digital Speedo and I have Google Maps on the Sat Nav screen.

    Anyone know what the 3 things are on start up... Bottom right of the DIS..... they look like 3 Mice (as in computer mice)
    #21
  23. JohnnyM100
    Online

    JohnnyM100 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    173
    [Mar 1, 2014]
    Rear seat occupancy/seatbelt indicators
    #22
    illingworth22 likes this.
  24. AJB
    Offline

    AJB Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    22
    [Mar 3, 2014]
    They just tell you which rear seatbelts are done up. Empty mouse picture means that belt isn't done up.

    The front passenger seat has an occupancy sensor (I guess it needs it for the airbag), so the dash light for the seatbelt comes on if somebody is in the seat and the belt isn't fastened.

    The rear seats don't have occupancy sensors, but the idea is that you know which seats are occupied, so you can check they've all done their belts up.
    #23
    illingworth22 likes this.
  25. Andy1608
    Offline

    Andy1608 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    168
  26. Migwire
    Offline

    Migwire Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Mar 10, 2014]
    Memory 1 on my DIS seems to reset itself every new journey I make. Is this normal for memory 1? If so I'm guessing you reset memory 2 if you want to watch mpg on say a full tank basis?
    #25
  27. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,551
    Likes Received:
    730
    [Mar 10, 2014]
    Yes, memory 2 is user-resettable, memory 1 is journey reset. If you make a stop for less than 2 hours it won't reset it though.
    #26
    Migwire likes this.
  28. Migwire
    Offline

    Migwire Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Mar 10, 2014]
    I take it the efficiency program stats are the same as memory 1 then? As in they're reset every journey providing you've stopped for more than two hours.
    #27
  29. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,551
    Likes Received:
    730
    [Mar 10, 2014]
    Not sure, I've not explored efficiency program that much to be honest.
    #28
  30. felsby
    Offline

    felsby Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Mar 11, 2014]
    The junction display in the DIS has one, VERY useful feature: When you´re about to turn, a vertical row of blue blocks at the right appears - it counts down from 10 blocks to zero, thus indicating the precise point where you are supposed to turn.

    Also, if there are two side roads close to each other, these are shown with a double arrow.
    #29
  31. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,551
    Likes Received:
    730
    [Mar 11, 2014]
    Yes, that is good. The one on the main screen shows exactly where on the junction you are with an arrow too, which serves the same purpose.
    #30

Share This Page