1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DIS dead pixels?

dickys3 Dec 3, 2010

  1. dickys3

    dickys3 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    2,955
    1
    38
    Is there supposed to be a blank line just above the top line on the DIS? It looks like a row of dead pixels!

    Only just noticed it, not sure if it's always been there!

    Cheers
     
  2. Andy_S

    Andy_S Member

    91
    0
    6
    Yes, it's a border between the bottom and top section. The top part turns orange for warnings etc...
     
  3. sub39h

    sub39h Active Member

    2,502
    7
    36
    apparently they got rid of it for the later versions of DIS, so if it bothers you you could always swap your cluster for a newer one
     
  4. FranA3

    FranA3 events moderator Regional Rep Gold Supporter Audi A3 Team Brill Red

    7,216
    303
    83
    i have this too its normal as andy says its the separator between the top and bottom displays
     
  5. dickys3

    dickys3 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    2,955
    1
    38
    Cheers guys.

    I don't think we are talking about the same thing though lol.

    I'll get a pic up later so u can see what I mean.

    Cheers
    Rich
     
  6. dickys3

    dickys3 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    2,955
    1
    38
    Here is a pic guys.

    Is this normal?

    [​IMG]
     
  7. JamesS4cab

    JamesS4cab Well-Known Member

    1,186
    94
    48
    I have exactly the same on my 57 plate S3 and only noticed it this weekend! I was going to ask exactly the same question - so thank!!
     
  8. dickys3

    dickys3 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    2,955
    1
    38
    No problem glad I can help!

    Now all we need to find out is if it's normal? Perhaps if you have the same then it's meant to be like this?

    Anyone else with a S3 have the same?
     
  9. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    29,272
    1,685
    113
    yeah that does happen, why not upgrade to white version, that doesnt.
     
  10. JamesS4cab

    JamesS4cab Well-Known Member

    1,186
    94
    48
    VCDS - does that mean "it happens" - its right - or "it happens" - it needs replacing!?

    As my car is under warranty for another 8 weeks, I will get it sorted if needs be!!

    Thanks.
     
  11. BigBird

    BigBird Lost in music...

    382
    2
    18
    Yeah - mine's had it since I got the car 18 months ago. It's not got any worse, so I just forgot all about it really.

    If it bothers you - just ask when you go for your final warranty check up...
     
  12. FranA3

    FranA3 events moderator Regional Rep Gold Supporter Audi A3 Team Brill Red

    7,216
    303
    83
    thats normal every a3 ive been in even my own car has this apart from the new white ones they must have designed it different so nothing to worry about
     
  13. FranA3

    FranA3 events moderator Regional Rep Gold Supporter Audi A3 Team Brill Red

    7,216
    303
    83
    right just popped outside to get a quick pic soz about the quality but this gives you an idea [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2010
  14. Andy_S

    Andy_S Member

    91
    0
    6
    It's just the join between the always red part, and the top part that can turn yellow for warnings....

    [​IMG]
     
  15. FranA3

    FranA3 events moderator Regional Rep Gold Supporter Audi A3 Team Brill Red

    7,216
    303
    83
    thats what i thought it was
     
  16. jungleman

    jungleman Well-Known Member

    2,035
    42
    48
    haha ive never noticed this before!
    i would go and look at mine but im far too lazy so will look in the morning haha
     
  17. Scott

    Scott Well-Known Member

    1,306
    125
    63
    I'm sure I've seen a similar line on my 09...with the newer DIS which isn't lit up red, so it's hard to notice, but I think it's there
     
  18. BigBird

    BigBird Lost in music...

    382
    2
    18
    -7°C and the man's takin photos of the DIS for us. Now that's forum dedication...:icon_thumright:
     
  19. Scott

    Scott Well-Known Member

    1,306
    125
    63
    I went out earlier to take a pic then realised I had a different DIS lol
     
  20. FranA3

    FranA3 events moderator Regional Rep Gold Supporter Audi A3 Team Brill Red

    7,216
    303
    83
    it is a bit chilly out there lol but anything to help a fellow member
     
  21. I have hose dead pixels, but i'm sure i never used to have them when i first got the car

    Also how slow the DIS is in cold weather 8|
     
  22. chrissy1502002

    chrissy1502002 Member

    238
    4
    18
    Im glad its not just my DIS that is slow in the cold, once the heating has been on for a bit and warmed up it goes back to normal haha
     
  23. FranA3

    FranA3 events moderator Regional Rep Gold Supporter Audi A3 Team Brill Red

    7,216
    303
    83
    mine does that too
     
  24. sub39h

    sub39h Active Member

    2,502
    7
    36
    my 2005/54 DIS had this from new, and my used 2006/55 has it too.

    It's completely normal
     
  25. dickys3

    dickys3 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    2,955
    1
    38
    Cheers guys looks like it's completely normal.

    I'll add this to the FAQ section at the top of this forum.
     
  26. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    29,272
    1,685
    113
    Personally I think its a fault, it shouldnt show any black lines in the display, only red & symbols, for I'd get the warranty to replace it.

    My 05 sb for missus has this iirc, but as its out of warranty & its got a white dis going in soon no point bothering audi uk for it
     
  27. c_w

    c_w Well-Known Member

    1,163
    87
    48
    My 2006 Sportback has the black divider line too, the next row above the red divider.
     
  28. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    5,705
    31
    48
    So its a fault ALL red DIS's share :think:

    :laugh:
     
  29. jungleman

    jungleman Well-Known Member

    2,035
    42
    48
    haha i forgot about this thread, but mines got it as well
     

Share This Page