1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DIS and radio station information?

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by mike-a, Oct 9, 2011.

  1. mike-a

    mike-a Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've currently got a Sony headunit in my '96 Sport which was fitted when I bought the car.I've also got the onboard DIS display for MPG/range/ave speed etc.If I refit an Audi headunit would the DIS also display station info?
    What headunit would have been fitted to my car from the factory anyway?

    Many thanks :)
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. S4_dan

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro!
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,285
    Likes Received:
    131
    Where you have the mpg/ range / avg speed etc (should be at the bottom of the display) and in the midle should be the temp display. If there is a bigger space above the temp, where low fuel warning, washer fliud warning symbols come on.......then it should display the radio staions/cd track number in there.
     
  4. rasA4

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    #3 rasA4, Oct 9, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2011
  5. pangsterA3

    pangsterA3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    5
    is it possible to retain the station/track information on DIS when you upgrade to an aftermarket stereo? - I know on Mercs and Vauxhalls you can buy kits from Connects2 that let this happen.. can you do this with Audi's as well?
     
  6. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    No you can't, only Blaupunkt do an interface cable for some of their HU's and at about £80 I think there's probably more useful things you could be buying. All the info you need is about 10" to the left on the HU itself including CD text, the DIS won't show you anything useful. How many times do you need to be reminded what radio station you are listening to?
     
    pangsterA3 likes this.

Share This Page