1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Digital boost gauge

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Mo-S3, Apr 23, 2003.

  1. Mo-S3
    Offline

    Mo-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 23, 2003]
    Im thinking of installing a digital boost similar to the one below, I know OCT make one for the S4 and S3 but at $400 i think its too expensive. The LED's are available in any colour i choose and can have a seperate boost sensor for chipped cars so the gauge can read up to 3 bar if necessary. Not sure though whether the gauge should display PSI or BAR ??
    what do u guys think of it ??

    [​IMG]
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 30, 2014]

  3. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,090
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Apr 23, 2003]
    PSI is a more accurate reading... so will look better IMO

    Rich
    #2
  4. Gambba
    Offline

    Gambba Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 23, 2003]
    But BAR is more universal, PSI to the rest of Europe means nothing....

    Scrap the Air fuel ratio line and get a set of change up lights instead..
    #3
  5. Mo-S3
    Offline

    Mo-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 23, 2003]
    disregard the air/fuel lights
    #4
  6. Mo-S3
    Offline

    Mo-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 23, 2003]
    This looks pretty good too.....

    [​IMG]
    #5
  7. Mo-S3
    Offline

    Mo-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 24, 2003]
    Have a look at this video.... (need quicktime to view)

    boost gauge video

    Sweet eh..! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/groovy.gif
    #6
  8. DaveCav
    Offline

    DaveCav Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 24, 2003]
    That second 1 looks mint were can i get one from /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif
    #7
  9. Mo-S3
    Offline

    Mo-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 24, 2003]
    If u want one let me know so i can get back to my supplier to try to get a better price for us all. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/groovy.gif
    #8
  10. DaveCav
    Offline

    DaveCav Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 24, 2003]
    Mo c what the crack is with them then please m8 /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif
    #9
  11. Mo-S3
    Offline

    Mo-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 3, 2003]
    Lee, the original cluster is modified mate. The picture is only for pictoral purposes. Unfortunatley there isnt a picture of the boost gauge on the S3 YET !!
    #10
  12. Banwell
    Offline

    Banwell previously LeeS3

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 4, 2003]
    Sign me up. The vid looks great. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/groovy.gif

    Does it run off the ecu/dis then? or does it require addition instrumentation?
    #11
  13. Mo-S3
    Offline

    Mo-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 5, 2003]
    Cool thats 2 people so far, The price does drop with more units.
    Lee and Dunc u do know that it is a DIY install?? Which involves removing ur tacho. If u have some diy knowledge then its no sweat at all. Then again I may be able to get them done for those who are a bit scared. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile_smoking.gif
    #12
  14. dans3
    Offline

    dans3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 5, 2003]
    I'm a little nervouse about taking the dials apart! Let me know the costs, parts + install.

    If it helps; I can supply all LED's and any other electronic bits free. (Probably got 'em all in stock actually! Including the blue LED's - same as VW use (Osram))
    #13

Share This Page