1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Differences Between 2.0T Remapped & Stock, See Below

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by DaveS3Turbo, Jan 28, 2006.

  1. DaveS3Turbo
    Offline

    DaveS3Turbo Sepang Blue S3

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 28, 2006]
    HI all,

    Having my 2.0TQ Revo'd Half Way Through Feb.

    Need my steering reack sorting first and my thrid puncture in 4 months.

    However does anyone have any videos or can anyone make any videos of their 2.0T remapped?

    What noises / comparisons can you distinguish?

    AM I Safe to have it remapped with a switch SPS?

    David Mann
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 27, 2014]

  3. mikep
    Offline

    mikep Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 28, 2006]
    The Revo remap has nothing to do with an SPS switch.

    The SPS is purely a means of switching between maps or adusting settings in the map which is already in the ecu,

    I'm not sure what a video of a remapped 2.0T will give you, what are you expecting to see?

    It will sound like the existing car, but it will go a hell of a lot faster!
    #2
  4. Cupramax
    Offline

    Cupramax Uber pimp meister

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 28, 2006]
    Yes, its just like standard only more so. Admittedly mines not Revo'd but it does go like a bat out of hell now, I'm running Forge's OCT code which is TUV approved. To give you some idea how quick it is once remapped, Superchips own A3 2.0T got tested in Audi driver mag a few months back and gave figures almost identical to an V8 S4 up to 100!!!
    #3
  5. cosmicblue
    Offline

    cosmicblue Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 28, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    HI all,

    Having my 2.0TQ Revo'd Half Way Through Feb.

    Need my steering reack sorting first and my thrid puncture in 4 months.

    However does anyone have any videos or can anyone make any videos of their 2.0T remapped?

    What noises / comparisons can you distinguish?

    AM I Safe to have it remapped with a switch SPS?

    David Mann

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I kind of understand what David is getting at - he want's to know how big a grin he is going to get...

    He will have read that the power hike lifts him from around 212bhp stock to something around 265bhp/300ft/lb /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/groovy.gif but he wants to know what that <font color="blue"> feels </font> like before he parts with £500.....
    #4
  6. johnmv55
    Offline

    johnmv55 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 29, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    HI all,

    Having my 2.0TQ Revo'd Half Way Through Feb.

    Need my steering reack sorting first and my thrid puncture in 4 months.

    However does anyone have any videos or can anyone make any videos of their 2.0T remapped?

    What noises / comparisons can you distinguish?

    AM I Safe to have it remapped with a switch SPS?

    David Mann

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Mine was Revo'd a couple of months back now, first thing you will notice is the pedal response at small throttle openings, it will perform better for smaller pedal movements (we are still talking small throttle openings here) The rest is quite straight forward, just imagine someone has swapped your 2 litre turbo engine for a 3 litre turbo engine and you will get some idea of what the remapped engine feels like, the midrange torque at 3000rpm rises from 220lb/ft to around 300lb/ft, which is close to 30% more! at this (3000rpm) point it is also making 200bhp, from overlaying various power graphs admittadly from different tuners/rolling roads, the 260ish maximum bhp of the 2.0Tfsi engine is the same as any chipped S3 or TT, the advantage of the extra 200cc and fsi of the 2.0T is that it produces around 20-30bhp MORE than the 1.8T S3/TT at lower rpm (from 2000rpm) which gradually falls away to the same figures as the S3/TT at 6000rpm..............buy it...........enjoy it....... /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/dancing.gif
    #5
  7. JaminBen
    Offline

    JaminBen Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jan 29, 2006]
    And then go for a full downpipe/cat/backbox for even more power ;-)
    #6
  8. DaveS3Turbo
    Offline

    DaveS3Turbo Sepang Blue S3

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 29, 2006]
    Thanks for the replies.

    Defo Having it done. Afer just being told I need a new tyre as the one I have is unrepairable. Someone is screwing Screws into my tyres. Jeolousy!!!! FFS. 3 in 3 months - Coinsidence a screw every time?

    Need steering rack sorting asap!!!!!

    THen to part with £700 for Revo!!!!! I wonder how undectable the software is with an SPS Switch?

    Dave
    #7
  9. bacardi
    Offline

    bacardi Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 29, 2006]
    thats my only concern, just how detectable is it?

    I thought the SPS switch actually changed the code over each time, which was very appealing, however if it doesnt and simply switches between two codes then the tuned code is in there and can be read by someone.............
    #8
  10. mikep
    Offline

    mikep Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 29, 2006]
    The std diagnostic machines used by Audi dealers (5051/2) cannot see the software.

    If someone wanted to find it, they could, but they would have to look quite hard, with some fairly complex hardware. Basically you would need to download a complete image of the ecu code and do a bit by bit comparision with a std code image.

    Dealers don't have that sort of hardware.
    #9
  11. bacardi
    Offline

    bacardi Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 29, 2006]
    most software code i've ever played around with has a checksum, if the software is changed this will be different, however i can see that on some new ECU's the code thats being changed is a map, which may not be "seen" by standard interfaces, however a bit by bit comparisson wouldn't be needed, just compare the checksum's of the two "maps"


    again, you have to ask how likely it is that someone would check this out but it would be better if the code could be reflashed by a SPS type interface IMO
    #10
  12. Cupramax
    Offline

    Cupramax Uber pimp meister

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 29, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]

    If someone wanted to find it, they could, but they would have to look quite hard, with some fairly complex hardware.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Or they could just look at the flash count using VAGCOM... /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/tongue.gif
    #11
  13. mikep
    Offline

    mikep Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 29, 2006]
    Nope, Revo set the flash count to the same as it was and the checksums are the same (that's why it took Revo 18 months to develop!).

    We know that VAG are adding special routines to their new diagnostic equipment and ensured that the maps would still pass the checks.
    #12
  14. bacardi
    Offline

    bacardi Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 29, 2006]
    that's pretty cool, guess the software doenst check the checksum and throw a wobbly when it see's the code does not add up to the checksum? (Enough checking?!)
    #13
  15. cosmicblue
    Offline

    cosmicblue Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 29, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    that's pretty cool, guess the software doenst check the checksum and throw a wobbly when it see's the code does not add up to the checksum? (Enough checking?!)

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I wonder if the boys at AmD have cracked this one too?
    #14
  16. madvw
    Offline

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jan 29, 2006]
    they have to in order for the code to work. Theres a program called VAGFIX that you can use to fix your modified codes checksum.
    #15
  17. bacardi
    Offline

    bacardi Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 30, 2006]
    i guess so, else the ecu would just error out,

    thing is, if its possible to change its possible to read the changes so i wouldnt stand up in court against it /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif
    #16

Share This Page