1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Difference Between RNS-E & Chrome

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by thelomondaudigroup, Mar 5, 2010.

  1. thelomondaudigroup
    Offline

    thelomondaudigroup Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    1
    Are these 2 different units? If so what are the differences..?

    Cheers

    Chris
    #1
  2. VWAddict
    Offline

    VWAddict Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not so simple.

    They're all RNS-E.

    Some are black knob, some are chrome.

    All the latest 2010 super-new hi-rez ones are chrome knob, but not all the chrome knob are super-new hi-rez ones.

    So... 'no'...

    ..and 'yes'.

    Keith
    #2
  3. evapor8
    Offline

    evapor8 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    You'll first notice the price. If it's approx £500 or less, the chrome knobbed and non-chrome knobbed RNS-E's are the same (except for the knobs!)

    If it's £850 plus with chrome knobs .... it's the new RNS-E that takes 32gb SD cards.

    I have a chrome-knobbed £500 unit, and when I have the Alpine KCE-425i ipod adaptor, I'll be happy with it!
    #3
  4. thelomondaudigroup
    Offline

    thelomondaudigroup Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    1
    So the only REAL way to tell are the sd card slot sizes?
    #4
  5. evapor8
    Offline

    evapor8 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think that if you're just looking at it (and there isn't an obvious price difference) I believe someone said the new one has a "Media" button.
    #5
  6. smudge_don
    Offline

    smudge_don Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    1
    Only the 09/10 units have the chrome knobs

    The 09 unit still has the Satnav maps on a dvd, whereas the 10 units have a hard drive with the maps pre installed
    #6
  7. scottie123
    Offline

    scottie123 (●̮̮̃•̃) (●&#

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    mine is a chrome unit, but I believe it is an 08 model. Will have to check on that though :p
    #7
  8. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    2
    #8
  9. VWAddict
    Offline

    VWAddict Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    0
    Firstly -Definitately not true... Many 08's had chrome knobs also.

    Secondly... first I've heard about the hard drive...

    I'm inclined to say no way. -surely they'd put stuff on flash before they put a mechanical drive in there? -Where/how did you come by this information?

    Keith
    #9
  10. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    2
    Maybe thnking of the VW RN510? I'm fairly sure it has a HD
    #10
  11. thelomondaudigroup
    Offline

    thelomondaudigroup Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok guys thanks for the replies on this, by looking on ebay this easiest way to narrow it down is the "media" button. Going by that there isn't even one for sale on ebay. Do you's think it's worth while hanging off for a new 2010v or just go for the current RNS-chrome?
    #11
  12. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    4
    If your buying off ebay its just a matter of waiting for the seller to nick someone's new one.... shouldn't be long :yes:
    #12
  13. smudge_don
    Offline

    smudge_don Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ye i was going by the VW unit, sorry
    #13

Share This Page