1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Difference between instrument clusters

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Strangely Brown, Nov 14, 2012.

  1. Strangely Brown
    Offline

    Strangely Brown Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 14, 2012]
    My Sportback doesn't have Miles to Empty, MPG or the other options normally found on the VW MFD (midline and Higjline) and if I'm honest I miss them. Where can I find a list of the different instrument clusters available for the A3 and part numbers.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 21, 2014]

  3. OCD-A3
    Offline

    OCD-A3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Nov 14, 2012]
    Does your cluster have the screen, but just not the trip computer function? Or is there a plastic blank there with idiot lights?

    If you have the screen, the trip computer can be enabled via Vag-com. If your wiper stalk doesn't have the up/down rocker buttons then you'll need to replace that too so you can navigate the menus.
    #2
  4. Strangely Brown
    Offline

    Strangely Brown Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 15, 2012]
    Hiya.

    I have the most basic of instrument clusters with no screen.
    [​IMG]

    What i would like to do is upgrade to a DIS Cluster and MFSW but being new to Audi i just need to find what the limitations are, which cluster i should focus on and if i do need to get it coded by Audi.
    #3
  5. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Nov 15, 2012]
    For mfsw you will need to upgrade the cluster, change the steering control module and change the wiper stalk together with vcds coding.

    The cluster also houses the immobiliser matched to your car key/s so that would need renewing/transferring as appropriate. Also you would need the mileage changing to your current figure.

    All this and of course a mfsw !

    I don't think you would get much change out of £500, if not more, depending on the cost of the wheel and cluster.
    #4
  6. Strangely Brown
    Offline

    Strangely Brown Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 15, 2012]
    Hi Mike,

    I’m confident with changing the Steering control module, wiper stalk, slip rind and MFSW as I have done a few in the past it’s just the instrument cluster I’m not sure about.

    I believe the part numbers I need are
    8P0953549F Steering wheel ECU
    8P0953519A Wiper stalk
    1K0959653D Slip Ring
    IK0959654 Steering Wheel angle sensor
    XXXXXXXXX Instrument cluster?
    XXXXXXXXX Steering wheel – “four arm” so I can use my existing airbag

    Really my question is do I NEED to use the latest cluster or can I use a secondhand unit with DIS from say a 2010 A3 and have it coded by Audi and mileage corrected or can it be done by a specialist. I’m not looking for the latest features just Miles to empty, MPG etc.
    #5
  7. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Nov 15, 2012]
    What year is your car ?

    I will try and get the part numbers later.
    #6
  8. Strangely Brown
    Offline

    Strangely Brown Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 15, 2012]
    Cheers Mike

    56 - 2006 Year September build.
    #7
  9. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Nov 15, 2012]
    Sorry mate - you need to PM me your VIN and PR number for existing steering wheel. There are dozens of alternatives !!
    #8
  10. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Nov 15, 2012]
    Check your instrument cluster with vcds. I think you have 8P0 920 951 KX.

    If that is the case then the equivalent with on-board computer seems to be 8P0 920 981 KX. However, there maybe be other bits that are required as well which I'm not aware of !!
    #9

Share This Page