1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Diesel performance chip - A4 3.0 Tdi Quattro saloon 2011

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B8 Chassis)' started by beachgang, Nov 25, 2011.

  1. beachgang
    Offline

    beachgang New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 25, 2011]
    Hi guys, I am considering an A4 3.0 Tdi Quattro saloon 2011/12 model. unbelievable performance as standard, however, can anyone recommend a good 'plug in' performance box/chip. I had one before on my A4 2.0 143ps.....very unimpressed.....cost about £300.00 and did not work very well. only used it about twice!!!! Anyway, your help would be much appreciated. Thanks everyone:)
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 26, 2014]

  3. evil_scooby
    Offline

    evil_scooby Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 25, 2011]
    Have you tried DTUK? The guy that runs it used to have a 3.0 TDI I think and got decent performance from it
    #2
  4. Zafi
    Offline

    Zafi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    63
    [Nov 26, 2011]
    Better off getting it remapped. Those boxes just fool the rail into working at higher pressure.

    Can fill up a DPF with soot in less than 500 miles...
    #3
  5. Audi Dynamik
    Offline

    Audi Dynamik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,187
    Likes Received:
    285
    [Nov 26, 2011]
    better off with a remap mate, the plug ins are not all that good, you might well find that you ECU is locked and the only way it can be remapped is to take the ECU out and put it on communication pads to process it through the computer and remap it like that, you need somebody proper who will spend a lot of time doing it and are quite expensive so you know the job will be 100% right make sure the ECU and what it is protected by look exactly the same as it were before it is remapped so your warranty is not void. you may need a ECU software update before you get it done because if you get it done then you go to Audi for a service or something they might do an ECU software update which will clear all the remap data on your Ecu, the remap is 100% undetectable through audis machine but if the job is not proper they will be able to tell the Ecu has been tampered with if they happen to look at the ECU. where are you based ?
    #4
  6. evil_scooby
    Offline

    evil_scooby Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 26, 2011]
    The new boxes are more intelligent than that and plug into other sensors than just the rail. I think the new boxes have 3 connections in, RAIL, Boost, and something else.
    #5
  7. beachgang
    Offline

    beachgang New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 27, 2011]
    Thanks for that bud, will consider remap, just didnt want to mess up warranty....just in case!
    #6
  8. beachgang
    Offline

    beachgang New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 27, 2011]
    Nice one bud thanks for your advice...didnt want to mess warranty so thought 'plug in' would be better for me....I think remapp would be better from what i have read but just not sure??? Im in cornwall....one remapp specialist that appears to be good by all accounts is Celtic Tuning near St Austell?
    #7
  9. beachgang
    Offline

    beachgang New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 27, 2011]
    Thanks mate, will consider this plug in...in 2 minds now with remapp or plug in????
    #8
  10. evil_scooby
    Offline

    evil_scooby Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 28, 2011]
    I think this is the one 240bhp up to 290bhp
    Diesel Tuning box for Audi A4 3.0 Tdi 240 Ps V6 Stage 2 (crd-t)

    If you send a message to ABYSS he might do you a bit of a deal on it as well as he is in a good mood about getting his new RS3 :)


    I had one on my last car and the performance gains were very noticeable
    And I just noticed on their website 14 Day Money Back Guarantee so you can't really go wrong! lol

    Wish the remappers for my s4 would do that so I can see if its worth the high amounts they are charging
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2011
    #9
  11. s3 performance
    Offline

    s3 performance New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. s3 performance
    Offline

    s3 performance New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 28, 2011]
    you will not loose warranty if it is done right and the bolts are replaced
    #11
  13. beachgang
    Offline

    beachgang New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 4, 2011]
    Thanks bud! everyone saying remap.....will definitely consider, was just worried about warranty as it will be a new motor.....and if it went bang would cost a flippin fortune to repair!!
    #12
  14. beachgang
    Offline

    beachgang New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 4, 2011]
    That's great...will look into this 'plug in'. Thanks mate, much appreciated.....trying to decide whether to go remap or plug in. Thanks for your advice. Will look into DTUK. Cheers
    #13
  15. Rosie Quattro
    Offline

    Rosie Quattro New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 5, 2011]
    I had my A4 3.0TDi DPF Quattro done last week, I had a BMW 330d re-mapped a few years ago and its quicker and smoother than that, it must be the push pull factor of the Quattro, I paid £250 for it, they took a copy of my file via the diagnostic port and came back the next day with the new file. MPG up too when i'm not throwing it about. :footy:
    #14
  16. phatAvant
    Offline

    phatAvant New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 8, 2012]
    What year is yours?
    #15
  17. riggssuzuki
    Offline

    riggssuzuki Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    49
    [Jan 15, 2012]
    I had a 335d M Sport BMW. Mental motor in standard form. 284 bhp. I fitted a 'racechip' to it. SOmewhere about 239 Euros from Germany. They have a website. I ended up with about 350 hp and 640 Nm of torque!!!!!!! Side by side with my mates E46 M3 there was no difference. I would recommend them. It was easy to fit but took a bit of fiddling to get the right settings. They were very helpful and fast to answer any questions. Which ever you go for it will make a great car even better.
    #16
  18. Audi Dynamik
    Offline

    Audi Dynamik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,187
    Likes Received:
    285
    [Jan 15, 2012]
    no it will not go bang trust me loads have been done no probs
    #17
  19. beachgang
    Offline

    beachgang New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 31, 2012]
    Have not bought it yet! I have a 61 plate 2.0TDi A4 S-line Quattro, but should have paid a little more and gone for the 3.0 TDI as a bit disappointed with the 2.0TDi. If I change it will be for the 3.0 TDi Quattro 'facelift' model in march . . .
    #18

Share This Page