1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dial Sweep

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Griffo, Jan 10, 2014.

  1. Griffo

    Griffo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Im new member on here, i have just bought an Audi A3 Black edition 2010. I have heard that using the VAG machine you can get your dials to sweep when starting the car?

    Has anyone done this?

    Any help would be great!!

    Many thanks James
     
  2. rsdub

    rsdub Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    yeah .map tech in brigg did this on a 09 with the sweep when mapping the car .think its 08 onwards its available for
     
  3. hollow

    hollow Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    54
    not seen it in the options on the 09 reg . thought i read that its not possible till 2010 on , off to search now.
     
  4. Griffo

    Griffo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    mine is 2010
     
  5. BENJAMIN

    BENJAMIN Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    91
    Very easy to do. You need a full version of vcds, go into the instruments, then coding and use the long coding helper to activate it.
     
  6. Griffo

    Griffo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    My mate has the full version of vcds, if this works i will let you know

    Thanks Benjamin
     
  7. hollow

    hollow Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    54
    not available on the tdi ,is there on the s3 though

    until recently there was a long post on the forum regarding this and a guy from portugal who stated that it could be done . i think the post was started by NHN . seems that a few days ago the post was hidden / deleted something like that as access is denied when you try to open it from a forum search .

    so either it is possible and they way how to has been hidden or the guy used the s3 main board and then used the dials from a tdi to get the needle sweep option etc .

    i dont know ,seems like the bermuda triangle of needle sweep .
     
    #7 hollow, Jan 10, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2014
  8. stetheo

    stetheo Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    105
    Just out of interest can anyone confirm what age S3 this can be activated on?
     
  9. hollow

    hollow Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    54
    not sure i think its the ones with the white clocks not the red.
     
  10. S3_Jacko

    S3_Jacko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    456
    I've got a 2008 pre-facelift and my dials sweep... My needles are also white
     
  11. MrLapou

    MrLapou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,233
    Likes Received:
    120
    not that this is worth much, but it was easy to activate on a 2005 mk5 Golf Gti.
     
  12. Pauls3bam

    Pauls3bam Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Very interested please let me know how?
     
  13. MrLapou

    MrLapou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,233
    Likes Received:
    120
    VCDS and go to instruments. Find the sweep control
     
  14. BENJAMIN

    BENJAMIN Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    91
    I've activated it both b8 3.0tdi and c6 2.0tdi.
     
  15. hollow

    hollow Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    54
    still not possible on a3 tdi with white dis
     
  16. Cockney Boy

    Cockney Boy Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    6
    Not all will have long coding helper. I've got a 2010 Q7 and don't have that option :(
     
  17. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,991
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Not possible.

    As for the guy from Europe who used a3 cluster, well he hacked the firmware by copying the RS3 firmware & putting on the tdi unit, cocked up the steering module coding & couldn't get it back to how it was, for 2 parts that are nearly 2k, its not worth hacking one if its not possible to reverse both to the previous state.
     

Share This Page