1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dension Ice Link

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by tonyt102, Jan 6, 2007.

  1. tonyt102

    tonyt102 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it just be being an idiot or is controling the iPod via the head unit a bit of a pain???

    Got it all wired up no problem and the iPod interactive mode works fine.

    I have a Concert 2 in a B6 S4 and I'm quite new to this iPod lark too. I seems you have to create a playlist of 5 albums. The Dension manuals are poor too, probably because their trying to cover many different HUs.

    Any help would be much appriciated.
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    45
    You can only navigate 5 albums using the HU, how would you navigate more given the functionality of the HU? You only have 1-6 buttons.
    Basically you have to use the iPOD itself for more functionality
     
  4. tonyt102

    tonyt102 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers Andy.

    I've actually spent most of the day sussing it out. It doesn't help as I'm new the iPod thing too.

    It seems that I have to add albums to playlists so, if you've got a few albums on one playlist, it's quite hard to navigate. It wouldn't be as bad if my headunits' display, displayed the track/album name.

    I had a Phat Box in my last S3 and that was great....I think I may look into getting rid of the Dension in favour of the Phat. I'll have to see how I get on with it now I know how it works.

    Antony
     
  5. madvw

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    3
    it sure doesnt!

    Spend the day sorting out your favourite tracks in itunes on your pc into playlists called cd1, cd2, cd3...cd5. Then when you plug the ipod back into the car, navigate to cd1, then turn on shuffle. Thats the best method i've found so far.
     
  6. tonyt102

    tonyt102 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeh, I've done that and it works ok.

    I think I just had a different impression of what it would do. I thought you could just flick through the albums on the iPod. Nevermind, it's in now.
     
  7. madvw

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    3
    you can still control the playback via the ipod though, just set it to cd6. You can then access the ipod as normal and skip about as much as you like.
     
  8. ZeroK66

    ZeroK66 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just let out a huge aaaaaaaahhhhhhhhh - that's brilliant!! ALways frustrated me that I couldnt control the iPod. My mrs didnt quite get as excited as I did. Glad I read this thread now :D
     
  9. ZeroK66

    ZeroK66 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    1
    Tried the CD6 thing and it did not work for me :(
     
  10. madvw

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    3
    do you have an ice>link plus?
     

Share This Page