1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dension GW 100 help

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by Aidy06, May 31, 2013.

  1. Aidy06
    Offline

    Aidy06 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    19
    [May 31, 2013]
    Hi, just purchased a GW100. I have a Concert 2 radio, connected it all up but nothing is working at all. Plugged iPod in and nothing, instructions say go via CD changed buttons but I've never had a CD changer. It's driving me mad, any help would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 29, 2014]

  3. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    30
    [May 31, 2013]
    Does the GW100 have a loose black wire? If so you must connect that to the concert II ground. The Concert II will automatically see the attached GW100 as a CDC and pressing the CD button switches between CD & CDC.
    #2
    Aidy06 and NHN like this.
  4. Aidy06
    Offline

    Aidy06 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    19
    [May 31, 2013]
    No mate it doesn't, I'll make one. Where is best to connect it?
    #3
  5. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    30
    [May 31, 2013]
    What do you mean is it doesn't have one? Maybe you can post a pic of the harness
    #4
  6. Aidy06
    Offline

    Aidy06 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    19
    [May 31, 2013]
    Sorry mate, it does have one - my apologies. Is there a certain place that this has to go? Thanks again
    #5
  7. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,515
    Likes Received:
    1,276
    [May 31, 2013]
    He already advised where to connect it :)
    #6
  8. Aidy06
    Offline

    Aidy06 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    19
    [May 31, 2013]
    I don't know what the ground is ha, do I just wrap it round a screw maybe???
    #7
  9. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,515
    Likes Received:
    1,276
    [May 31, 2013]
    Connect it to the thickish brown wire that's in the top left - terminal position, marked as pin 8 of the 8 pin connector.

    [​IMG]
    #8
    Aidy06 likes this.
  10. Aidy06
    Offline

    Aidy06 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    19
    [May 31, 2013]
    Thanks Nigel, appreciate it. Didn't realise that would stop it working, I'll have a look at it tomorrow
    #9
  11. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,515
    Likes Received:
    1,276
    [May 31, 2013]
    Just as a test, making sure you have radio code to hand incase it doesn't remember your vin, remove that connector, temp push the black wire into the back of brown terminal/wire & plug back into radio, then test & see if works, that way before you strip/wire in "properly" you will know if this is the issue.
    #10
    Aidy06 likes this.
  12. Aidy06
    Offline

    Aidy06 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    19
    [May 31, 2013]
    Will do buddy, thanks again for the info. Will have a look at it in the morning, hopefully that is the issue and its an easy fix
    #11
  13. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,515
    Likes Received:
    1,276
    [May 31, 2013]
    Was mostly Craig tbh, but he's probably down the pub lol.
    #12
    Aidy06 likes this.
  14. Aidy06
    Offline

    Aidy06 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    19
    [May 31, 2013]
    Haha no worries mate, will report back tomorrow
    #13
  15. Aidy06
    Offline

    Aidy06 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jun 1, 2013]
    Thanks Nigel & Craig, got it working. Thanks a lot, really appreciate the help. Was ready to throw it out the window at one point haha, one more question though. How do I access albums? It's all very complicated ha
    #14
  16. Aidy06
    Offline

    Aidy06 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jun 1, 2013]
    Never mind I've figured it out, quite complicated but I'll get used to it. It's times like this that I miss my Golf with the iPod armrest connection and RNS510 ha
    #15
  17. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,515
    Likes Received:
    1,276
    [Jun 1, 2013]
    Then why not fit an rns-e & ami :p
    #16
  18. Aidy06
    Offline

    Aidy06 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jun 1, 2013]
    Its on my list to do eventually ha, Dension is just for the time being. Only cost me £40 so can't complain
    #17
  19. Aidy06
    Offline

    Aidy06 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jun 2, 2013]
    Any of you two know how to shuffle an album or playlist by any chance? Can't seem to figure it out at all, thanks
    #18

Share This Page