1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Delay on Brake Lights

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by GarryX, Jan 13, 2006.

  1. GarryX

    GarryX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    My brake switch went a couple of weeks ago guys,no brake lights were working at all.It was also causing my Traction warning light and my Glow Plug light to come on.
    Ive now got the switch replaced but my brake lights dont come on unless i really press down on the brake peddle.I took it back to the Audi specialist that done the work and he said he has adjusted it.
    It is now no different and when i have been pressing the brake to see when the lights do come on,then the Traction warning light comes on.

    Anyone any ideas as to what this is?Is it a faulty switch or has the guy not adjusted it right?Also he said when he plugged in the diagnostics it wouldnt talk to the ABS system.Is this related you think??
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. marshalld

    marshalld aka dazzler
    Audi S3

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    30
    When my brake light switch went I got no warning lights at all.

    Just had no brake lights!! Scary driving around central London without them.

    Good old Audi roadside to the rescue again.
     
  4. GarryX

    GarryX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    When my brake light switch went I got no warning lights at all.

    Just had no brake lights!! Scary driving around central London without them.

    Good old Audi roadside to the rescue again.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    This is why im thinking it may be something other than the switch that has a problem mate.
    Anyone know why the diagnostics wont check the ABS?Is this related to the brake light problem??
     
  5. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,705
    Likes Received:
    31
    I'd have thought it should have talked to the interface regardless of what was wrong with the ABS unit unless the 'grey K-wire' had physically snapped and therefore didn't detect it's presence!!!

    I would be surprised if it had anything to do with the brake switch - it is just an off/on rather than sending a measurable voltage/resistance. Do you have cruise control on the car?
     
  6. GarryX

    GarryX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont mate.
    Id love to just have my car with everthing working properly again.Over the past 6 months its just been one thing after another.Really /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/swear.gif me off.Had to get 4 new tyres today aswell.
    Is there no end to the money munching motor?? lol
     

Share This Page