1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dead pixels in the centre display!

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by KEVEO, Oct 27, 2008.

  1. KEVEO
    Offline

    KEVEO New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 27, 2008]
    Hi,

    the computer display in the centre of the clocks has got loads of dead pixels in & I can hardly read what it says.

    Whats the best way to go about fixing it? the repair costs seem expensive to me! Can I simply buy some second hand clocks?? I've heard the clocks form part of the immobilliser????!!

    Any help greatly appreciated!:icon_thumright:

    Cheers!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 26, 2014]

  3. Siena
    Offline

    Siena Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Oct 27, 2008]
    Hi Kev, and welcome.

    What model and year is your car?
    #2
  4. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 27, 2008]
    THe immo is in the clocks but from what i know you can swap the screens between clocks as long as they are the same version year wise.
    #3
  5. KEVEO
    Offline

    KEVEO New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 27, 2008]
    Howdy!

    The cars a facelift 1999 1.6

    Anyone know how much I would pay for a second hand display?:3sadwalk:
    #4
  6. rasA4
    Offline

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 27, 2008]
    Be careful as it is quite a common problem, buying second hand could end up having the same problem. It may seem fine when cold however it starts going Pete Tong once it heats up. Im sure facelifts have a built in Immobilisers.
    #5
  7. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 27, 2008]
    And some pre facelifts as i have found there is a cross over period.
    #6
  8. rasA4
    Offline

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 27, 2008]
    yes very true i'm sure some face's have an analogue clock under the rev counter
    #7
  9. Nogwuy
    Offline

    Nogwuy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 28, 2008]
    #8
  10. Dan Yeates
    Offline

    Dan Yeates Audi S4 B5 Avant

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 28, 2008]
    Yeah, my S4 is a facelift but has the analogue clock. It's 1999. Don't know if it has the immobilisor in the clocks or what though?!

    I plan to send mine away to get repaired.
    #9
  11. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,717
    Likes Received:
    332
    [Oct 28, 2008]
    immo2 came in around 97 iirc so anything after then will have it in the clocks
    #10
  12. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 28, 2008]
    this is true but it is a change over year as it was thought that mine did not have it but i found they do and it is a early 97 so you just need to make sure you match the clocks if you can they also have different cable sizes as well which is a sign.
    #11
  13. AUDI TURBO
    Offline

    AUDI TURBO Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 28, 2008]
    ive got a dial kit dash etc in my car in 100% working order cheap?? from my 1997 audi a4 t-sport
    #12
  14. Dan Yeates
    Offline

    Dan Yeates Audi S4 B5 Avant

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 28, 2008]
    If all the pixels are ok I might be interested. How much for? Sorry, will this fit my 1999 S4? Can I just take the screen out your dial cluster and put it in mine?
    #13
  15. Dan Yeates
    Offline

    Dan Yeates Audi S4 B5 Avant

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 28, 2008]
    Mine looks like this

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    #14
  16. AUDI TURBO
    Offline

    AUDI TURBO Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 28, 2008]
    MY DIALS LOOK DIFFERENT AS MINE NOT A S4. DIS LOOK THE SAME AS MINE IT JUST DIALS ARE DIFFERENT. AND YES ALL MINE IS IN PERFECT WORKING ORDER.
    #15
  17. rasA4
    Offline

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 28, 2008]
    if you want to replace the DIS you will need a degree in soldering
    #16
  18. audinary
    Offline

    audinary Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 29, 2008]
    My display is amusing. All strange when cold but fine when warm. Again, it's only the very top bit (radio station, CD Track Etc.) My car is just about pre-facelift and has the analogue clock in the tacho.

    It's almost as if they wanted to put steering wheel controls on for the stereo, but didn't have time. The display on its own seems a bit pointless.....
    #17
  19. Jimbo.King
    Offline

    Jimbo.King Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    22
    [Oct 29, 2008]
    Ill second that as i found out :

    [​IMG]

    Sill going strong though 1 year on :

    [​IMG]
    #18
  20. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 29, 2008]
    I will possibly have two sets of clocks avaliable for sale both with perfect DIS depending on weather i can be bothered to try and fit it to my car anymore.
    #19
  21. EnzoS4
    Offline

    EnzoS4 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
  22. rasA4
    Offline

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 29, 2008]
    shame they are not in the u.k
    #21
  23. a4turbos
    Offline

    a4turbos New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 29, 2008]
    Good work, did you use a hot air pencil to do that? I have access to one of those ok and it doesnt look that difficult to reflow. I always thought it was small cracks on the actual ribbon cable that were the cause. I havent even dismantled mine to investigate but may do so. Do you have any close up pics of the ribbon cable?

    cheers
    #22
  24. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Oct 30, 2008]
    can't really see what the picture is showing but do you have to solder all those inline contacts above the tape measure?
    #23
  25. audinary
    Offline

    audinary Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 30, 2008]
    My DIS failed totally on the way in to work, then magically reappeared.

    My car is haunted.
    #24
  26. Jimbo.King
    Offline

    Jimbo.King Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    22
    [Oct 30, 2008]
    a4turbos,
    Hot air pencil is the way to go, dont rush it and dont pull on the ribbon cable, let it come away in its own time, i used a portasol (http://www.dansdata.com/portasol.htm) to get mine off,

    To put back on brush the contacts with some flux and tin the contacts on the circuit board first, then with a fine tip soldering iron line the new display contacts up and heat each connection up in turn with the soldering iron and the solder that you had previously tinned the circuit board up with will be sufficient enough to solder the connection.

    NOTE this is not a straight forward easy job even though it sounds like it, it took me 2 attempts to get it right.

    [​IMG]
    #25
  27. rasA4
    Offline

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 30, 2008]
    you have done an excellent job wish i had the skill to do this.
    #26
  28. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,672
    Likes Received:
    296
    [Oct 30, 2008]
    When i can afford for it to be done Jimbo is probably the man to do mine !! I have a brand new display from a new dash i bought to get swapped over

    Just need a house first....
    #27

Share This Page