1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dead pixels in the centre display!

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by KEVEO, Oct 27, 2008.

  1. KEVEO
    Offline

    KEVEO New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    the computer display in the centre of the clocks has got loads of dead pixels in & I can hardly read what it says.

    Whats the best way to go about fixing it? the repair costs seem expensive to me! Can I simply buy some second hand clocks?? I've heard the clocks form part of the immobilliser????!!

    Any help greatly appreciated!:icon_thumright:

    Cheers!
    #1
  2. Siena
    Offline

    Siena Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi Kev, and welcome.

    What model and year is your car?
    #2
  3. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    THe immo is in the clocks but from what i know you can swap the screens between clocks as long as they are the same version year wise.
    #3
  4. KEVEO
    Offline

    KEVEO New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Howdy!

    The cars a facelift 1999 1.6

    Anyone know how much I would pay for a second hand display?:3sadwalk:
    #4
  5. rasA4
    Offline

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    Be careful as it is quite a common problem, buying second hand could end up having the same problem. It may seem fine when cold however it starts going Pete Tong once it heats up. Im sure facelifts have a built in Immobilisers.
    #5
  6. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    And some pre facelifts as i have found there is a cross over period.
    #6
  7. rasA4
    Offline

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    yes very true i'm sure some face's have an analogue clock under the rev counter
    #7
  8. Nogwuy
    Offline

    Nogwuy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    #8
  9. Dan Yeates
    Offline

    Dan Yeates Audi S4 B5 Avant

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, my S4 is a facelift but has the analogue clock. It's 1999. Don't know if it has the immobilisor in the clocks or what though?!

    I plan to send mine away to get repaired.
    #9
  10. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,541
    Likes Received:
    303
    immo2 came in around 97 iirc so anything after then will have it in the clocks
    #10
  11. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    this is true but it is a change over year as it was thought that mine did not have it but i found they do and it is a early 97 so you just need to make sure you match the clocks if you can they also have different cable sizes as well which is a sign.
    #11
  12. AUDI TURBO
    Offline

    AUDI TURBO Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    ive got a dial kit dash etc in my car in 100% working order cheap?? from my 1997 audi a4 t-sport
    #12
  13. Dan Yeates
    Offline

    Dan Yeates Audi S4 B5 Avant

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    If all the pixels are ok I might be interested. How much for? Sorry, will this fit my 1999 S4? Can I just take the screen out your dial cluster and put it in mine?
    #13
  14. Dan Yeates
    Offline

    Dan Yeates Audi S4 B5 Avant

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine looks like this

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    #14
  15. AUDI TURBO
    Offline

    AUDI TURBO Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    MY DIALS LOOK DIFFERENT AS MINE NOT A S4. DIS LOOK THE SAME AS MINE IT JUST DIALS ARE DIFFERENT. AND YES ALL MINE IS IN PERFECT WORKING ORDER.
    #15
  16. rasA4
    Offline

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    if you want to replace the DIS you will need a degree in soldering
    #16
  17. audinary
    Offline

    audinary Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    0
    My display is amusing. All strange when cold but fine when warm. Again, it's only the very top bit (radio station, CD Track Etc.) My car is just about pre-facelift and has the analogue clock in the tacho.

    It's almost as if they wanted to put steering wheel controls on for the stereo, but didn't have time. The display on its own seems a bit pointless.....
    #17
  18. Jimbo.King
    Offline

    Jimbo.King Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    22
    Ill second that as i found out :

    [​IMG]

    Sill going strong though 1 year on :

    [​IMG]
    #18
  19. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will possibly have two sets of clocks avaliable for sale both with perfect DIS depending on weather i can be bothered to try and fit it to my car anymore.
    #19
  20. EnzoS4
    Offline

    EnzoS4 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
  21. rasA4
    Offline

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    shame they are not in the u.k
    #21
  22. a4turbos
    Offline

    a4turbos New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good work, did you use a hot air pencil to do that? I have access to one of those ok and it doesnt look that difficult to reflow. I always thought it was small cracks on the actual ribbon cable that were the cause. I havent even dismantled mine to investigate but may do so. Do you have any close up pics of the ribbon cable?

    cheers
    #22
  23. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    can't really see what the picture is showing but do you have to solder all those inline contacts above the tape measure?
    #23
  24. audinary
    Offline

    audinary Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    0
    My DIS failed totally on the way in to work, then magically reappeared.

    My car is haunted.
    #24
  25. Jimbo.King
    Offline

    Jimbo.King Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    22
    a4turbos,
    Hot air pencil is the way to go, dont rush it and dont pull on the ribbon cable, let it come away in its own time, i used a portasol (http://www.dansdata.com/portasol.htm) to get mine off,

    To put back on brush the contacts with some flux and tin the contacts on the circuit board first, then with a fine tip soldering iron line the new display contacts up and heat each connection up in turn with the soldering iron and the solder that you had previously tinned the circuit board up with will be sufficient enough to solder the connection.

    NOTE this is not a straight forward easy job even though it sounds like it, it took me 2 attempts to get it right.

    [​IMG]
    #25
  26. rasA4
    Offline

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    you have done an excellent job wish i had the skill to do this.
    #26
  27. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    270
    When i can afford for it to be done Jimbo is probably the man to do mine !! I have a brand new display from a new dash i bought to get swapped over

    Just need a house first....
    #27

Share This Page