1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DBC Cruise Control

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by aragorn, Aug 7, 2009.

  1. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,804
    Likes Received:
    343
    [Aug 7, 2009]
    Does anyone have a working cruise control system on a DBC car that could check some things for me?

    I'm struggling to get mine working, despite everything seeminly checking out properly so i'd like to clarify a few points against a working system.

    Cheers
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 28, 2014]

  3. S4twiggy
    Offline

    S4twiggy Fully Certified Detailer!!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,815
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Aug 7, 2009]
    mine also isnt working so would like to hear the outcome of this
    #2
  4. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,804
    Likes Received:
    343
    [Aug 7, 2009]
    yours is an S4, so its almost guaranteed to be the stalk at fault.

    DBC cars use a mechanical vacuum system with a small hella ECU box to run the cruise, your car just interfaces with the ECU directly.
    #3
  5. S4twiggy
    Offline

    S4twiggy Fully Certified Detailer!!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,815
    Likes Received:
    9
  6. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,730
    Likes Received:
    316
    [Aug 7, 2009]
    Grant can put you in touch with a guy breaking one with a working stalk.
    #5
  7. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,804
    Likes Received:
    343
    [Aug 8, 2009]
    Fixed it :D

    Seems i'd made an arse of the brake lamp connection, due to a misunderstanding of the troubleshooting guide (i pulled it from the live side rather than the bulb side), and i think the first ECU was faulty too.

    Second ECU fitted and the brake take off rewired and its working :D

    Gonna recheck the first ECU in a bit to ensure its defo duff, but smiles all round.

    The stalk is a bit funny, but thats not unusual for used CC stalks. I might take it off at some point and clean the switch contacts inside.
    #6

Share This Page