1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dashboard replacement

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Lazaros, Nov 5, 2012.

  1. Lazaros
    Offline

    Lazaros New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 5, 2012]
    Hello guys...
    I have a simple question.On my '99 A3 1.8T I have an almost destroyed dashboard screen(many dead pixels).
    I have found a used dashboard for not so much money.I know how to dismount the old one and install the "new" one.
    Is there something else i should do than just connect it?Could be any problem about milleage,immobilizer etc. ?

    Thanks in advance
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 1, 2014]

  3. phil miller
    Offline

    phil miller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    83
    [Nov 5, 2012]
    The cluster will need to have your immo program added, the new one will fit, light up but you engine won't start unless you have it programmed :( I know someone on here can do it but for the life of me can't remember who think its Danny, sorry I can't help more dude
    #2
  4. Lazaros
    Offline

    Lazaros New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 5, 2012]
    Then the process will be little longer.I live in Sweden,but thanks anyway Phil.
    Is it possible to just replace the screen on the damaged dash ?
    #3
  5. Nilz
    Offline

    Nilz Defo worth the wait :)

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,265
    Likes Received:
    408
    [Nov 5, 2012]
    You can have it repaired, if you do a search, there was quite an extensive thread on repairing a dead display with pixel issues.
    #4
  6. Lazaros
    Offline

    Lazaros New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 5, 2012]
    Yes i know...I have tried to repair mine by warming the tape cable,but nothing happened.Then i warmed it little more,so the tape has been damaged a little bit.The question is how easy is to attach a new screen with its tape cable on the existing board.
    #5
  7. sportquattro
    Offline

    sportquattro Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Nov 5, 2012]
    You can buy a DIS replacement screen off ebay for about £30 if I recall correctly, looks a tricky job to unsolder and then resolder the new one in place and I'm not that brave yet to do mine. If yours is already damaged then you probably have nothing to lose by giving it ago.
    #6
  8. Lazaros
    Offline

    Lazaros New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 5, 2012]
    That's what i'm thinking about...It can't be worst.But i have already ordered a genuine used cluster and i wonder,what could be more tricky?To switch the screens from the "good" one to the damaged one or just to mount the new one and reprogram it?
    #7
  9. phil miller
    Offline

    phil miller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    83
    [Nov 5, 2012]
    I did read somewhere they use low melting solder as normal solder temps can damage the processors, id give it a go but im not that brave just yet lol
    #8
    sportquattro likes this.
  10. Lazaros
    Offline

    Lazaros New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 5, 2012]
    It's always good to try,but a mistake in that case can cost another cluster...How much can somebody take to reprogram a new cluster?
    #9
    sportquattro likes this.
  11. phil miller
    Offline

    phil miller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    83
    [Nov 5, 2012]
    Danio on here can do them, iirc when i asked him he said he would need the new (to you) cluster and your spare key, he will then program the cluster so you just plug it in and it works, think it was about £50 but i may be wrong, i knew id spoke to someone about it
    #10
  12. Lazaros
    Offline

    Lazaros New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 5, 2012]
    Ah ok...Sounds good price and kind of easy job for a specialist.I'm living in Sweden,but it's good to know about the prices around,so i can look for somebody here.Thanks a lot mate :)
    #11

Share This Page