1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dashboard/needle lights going out?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by devilchef1981, Aug 21, 2012.

  1. devilchef1981

    devilchef1981 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys

    Annoying fault, whilst driving at any point, my dashboard lights go completely out, the needles freeze and after about 4-5 secs they all come back on. Needles reset themselves to what im currently driving and clock re-sets. Any ideas?

    Also, not sure whether its related, very rarely when i start the car it cuts out completely, no dash lights at all again. I take the key out, try again and boom! everything as normal (apart from clock again reset)

    This is getting really annoying now, especially at....Ahem....70mph on the motorway!

    any ideas??

    Cheers
     
  2. gen.heinz guderian

    gen.heinz guderian Well-Known Member
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    125
    Earth fault?
     
  3. jasonc

    jasonc Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    49
    I'd start with a new battery.
     
  4. devilchef1981

    devilchef1981 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Battery was replaced by the AA 2 months ago? Could be a faulty one you think?
     
  5. mike foster

    mike foster Fossie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    80
    You need to get the car scanned for faults with VCDS to identify the problem.

    Check on VCDS user map for someone close to you who will help.
     
  6. audicruiser

    audicruiser Audi Heaven

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,865
    Likes Received:
    46
    +1 on Earth fault... Had this on a Golf Mk4 a few years ago. It probably won't show any fault codes either.
     

Share This Page