1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dash

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Jules, Dec 10, 2008.

  1. Jules

    Jules Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi I have lost the mileage bit on my dash it is a 1.9 tdi se model 1997, can you tell me if there any bulbs behind the dash or are the clocks knackered?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Mart

    Mart Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    0
    There are bulbs behind the dash, as so far I have lost the rev counter, clock, fuel gage & half speedo from 40 to 120 lol.
    I assume there'll be one for the milage too, I have a 97 too, so look forward to that going next.
     
  4. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,541
    Likes Received:
    464
    i have a feeling the illumination is done by LED's but i may be wrong...
     
  5. Jules

    Jules Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    I must admit it is LED's so I take it I need a new set of clocks then, how do you go about changing them do you have to recode them?
     
  6. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,541
    Likes Received:
    464
    Your car may have immo1 or immo2 being a '97

    If it has immo1 you should simply be able to swap it over. If its immo2 it will need recoded.
     
  7. Nessy

    Nessy VW + Audi mad

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    6
    Before you go replacing bulbs/LEDs etc just make sure that all the fuses are OK.
    When I fitted LED bulbs to my interior light a while ago (the one by the interior mirror) I must've shorted something out whilst fiddling with my test scredwdriver etc as the mileage display suddenly went out?????
    Traced it to a blown (red?) 5 amp mini-fuse in the fusebox , replaced fuse and hey presto, mileage display restored............
     
  8. dieselfitter251

    dieselfitter251 Blow ma own trumpet?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Me too! Tried to get the two screws out that hold the damn unit in place and one of the heads is stripped!!!! Grrrrrrrr.

    All my fuses are good, I suspect I blew some bulbs when I was trying hammer in an over sized torx head to get purchase on said knackered bolt heed. :blush:
     
  9. Jules

    Jules Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    Do you know what fuse this was?
     
  10. Nessy

    Nessy VW + Audi mad

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    6

    No, only that it was one of the mini-fuses located in the lower section of the fusebox; was red and rated at 5 amps.......
    On my Avant it controlled the interior light as well as the mileage cluster on the speedo, found out which one it was by pulling out each mini-fuse in turn until I'd found which one had blown................
     
  11. dieselfitter251

    dieselfitter251 Blow ma own trumpet?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Jules,
    Did you get your mileage LCD unit sorted? I've just been investigating a few blown bulbs inb my dash and now the mileage doesn't work.

    Was fixed your problem?
     
  12. Jules

    Jules Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    no sorry haven't had the time to look yet but will do in the next few days
     
  13. dieselfitter251

    dieselfitter251 Blow ma own trumpet?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I faffed around with the damn mileage display and made sure it had power, the multiplugs were all ok and even did a recode on the console but nothing. Tried pressing the trip reset button and still nothing.

    I was sitting in a que for fuel at Morrisons and a 'bulb out' symbol came on, on my DIS. After filling up the car, I switch on all my lights everything worked and when I got in the car the Mileage display was working! Not sure how the hell that happened but it saves me messing around with fiddley electronics, which I've never been to good at.
    :yahoo:
     
  14. Jules

    Jules Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    That was a good result then for you, will have a look next week at mine
     
  15. Jules

    Jules Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    have looked at this today and it was a small bulb on the back of the dash
     
  16. jcb

    jcb Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,122
    Likes Received:
    13
    wish I could "lose" my mielage!!
     

Share This Page