1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dash lights always on via VCDS

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by granty578, Jun 13, 2014.

  1. granty578

    granty578 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is this possible does anyone know?
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. LEE69

    LEE69 07 170 DSG
    Team Dolphin Grey Audi A3

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,027
    Likes Received:
    324
    yes it is
     
  4. leeds2592

    leeds2592 When I grow up, I want a 964!

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    222
    Turn your side lights on everytime you get in your car?
     
  5. JRock247

    JRock247 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    41
    No expert but pretty sure if you go into Channel 19 of the Instrument Control Module, there are different settings for the lights.
    Think the options are,
    1. No instrument lights until you turn on your headlights
    2. Needles ONLY lit all the time
    3. Clocks ONLY lit all the time
    4. Needles and Clocks lit all the time

    Hope that helps.
     
  6. granty578

    granty578 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks - my needles are currently on all the time.

    I've noticed sometimes in the day, the instruments are on, sometimes they aren't. They confuse me, I notice most going through dark patches e.g. trees and would prefer them just always on
     
  7. JRock247

    JRock247 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    41
    The reason your Needles come on and off when driving through woods, etc is because there is a light sensor in the cluster and will detect amount of light hitting the clocks and will illuminate the needles as and when required.
     
  8. LEE69

    LEE69 07 170 DSG
    Team Dolphin Grey Audi A3

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,027
    Likes Received:
    324
    Is it in the clocks? I thought it was one of the nipples on the vent area on the dash?
     
  9. Lewbo

    Lewbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    103
    It's only available on cluster 2007 onwards, my 2006 clocks didn't have then upgrade to 09 s3 ones and now i have it and activated it.
     
    LEE69 likes this.
  10. JRock247

    JRock247 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    41
    I think the sensor is on the speedo dial?

    Correct me if I'm wrong!?
     
    LEE69 likes this.
  11. Lewbo

    Lewbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    103
    Yes it's bottom right of the cluster
     
    LEE69 likes this.
  12. LEE69

    LEE69 07 170 DSG
    Team Dolphin Grey Audi A3

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,027
    Likes Received:
    324
    Ok thanks :)
     
  13. granty578

    granty578 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah just been in VCDS and I can't do this :(

    Find sensor on cluster and cover it? Haha
     
  14. LEE69

    LEE69 07 170 DSG
    Team Dolphin Grey Audi A3

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,027
    Likes Received:
    324
    I'm adjusting mine so the dials come on with the headlights, as i have the auto sensor you never know if they are on or off lol
     

Share This Page