Dash bulbs

fARQUARE

Reaction score
Hello folks, I'm new to audi ownership, been tinkering with mk2 golf GTI's for the last 5 years only to take a sabattical to a 306 and a motorbike.

Picked up this B5 pre facelift 1.8t sport a few weeks ago and am pretty pleased with it.

I have a few problems however which i'm hoping you can help with; some the dash bulbs have blown - i've already taken the binnacle out to get one of the offending bulbs so i can get the right bits from audi. My question is, the led display for the mileage is pretty much crooked. It does light up but is very faint - is there a bulb behind this which illuminates the display (circled below) or is this a more annoying problem.

I've read all about led displays and the pixel problems people have with them but this seems like a backlight rather than a led problem, i'm hoping its just a bulb and an easy fix.

Here is a pic of the offending article and a few of the motor.

Cheers.

a4dasha.jpg

A41.jpg

A42.jpg

A43b.jpg

a4int-1.jpg

finally, this is the dash bulb, are all the binnacle bulbs the same?

dashbulb.jpg

Nice motor mate. Been working on my dash too. I think the Mileage unit is sealed though I do think it can be unplugged and repalaced without to much hassle, though don't quote me...

Hi mate welcome to the site im not to sure about that sorry, nice car by the way is it lowered if so what with

Tazzy baby

Hi mate,

Have you tried altering the brightness with the adjuster?

You probably have but just a thought.

Yes, tried the adjuster - it made it just about visable.
I have bulbs coming to audi service dept tomorow - apparently there is one which backlights the mileage display, the other ones are 1.1w so I have a few of each as spares.

I will post the part no's for info if anyone else needs them.

The car is lowered -30mm springs only i think (done by the last owner) as it's the sport spec I beleive it has uprateed shocks anyway.

As for the other plans, I want: