Dane's Hybrid Conversion Thread

Dane

Had an 8L S3, a B5 RS4 now I have a B8 S4
Reaction score
I have been applying subtle modifications to s3 since I bought it back in June 2010. Oh wait no... I mean, Ok - well it's finally happened, no that ones been used too. I've read these threads so many times... lol.

Right, so I've done some bits and bats to my s3 over the past 10 months all with the final goal of going for more power. Having seen the gains Welly achieved with his hybrid I have decided I will be doing the same thing... literally! The difference is I'm no mechanic the work will be carried out at Badger 5. I literally can't be trusted!

Firstly a big thank you to Bill, Welly & Tuffty for there help, patience and parts.

Secondly some back ground on my car;

Suspension;
It's lowered on Bilstein B8 dampers and Apex springs and this is how it sits today.

2f5615b4.jpg

It used to be on Eibachs but they didnt really lower it, fantastic ride quality but still quite boaty. The Apex's are lower, and make the whole car feel more sporty when pushing it, whilst maintaining a good standard of ride comfort for every day use.

Brakes;
Brembo GT junior Kit with ferrodo D2500, 323mm groved discs, Badger 5 Braided lines and Motul RBF 600 fluid.

untitled.jpg

These were a bargain from JoJo - cheers bud!

Engine;
Intergrated Engineering Rods replaced by Bill the thread can be found here;

http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/a3-s3-forum-8l-chassis/107618-danes3-rod-install.html

Badger 5 3 inch Turbo Intake Pipe with a Badger 5 custom map this thread is here;

http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/a3-s3-forum-8l-chassis/109356-3inch-tip-tests-danes-s3-today.html

The headlines being;
Before badger 5 TIP - 251 bhp
After badger 5 TIP - 270 bhp
With badger 5 TIP and map - 278 bhp and a nice big torque plateau.

The Plan;
The car is booked in at Badger 5 at the end of the month for the installation of the following;
CR Hybrid Turbo,
Hi-flow exhaust manifold of some description...