D or N at lights

catdog

Reaction score
I have a 2.0T CVT. My mate claims it's better to stay in D at the lights as shifting from D to N, and vice versa, would cause more damage to the CVT in the long run. Any comments, anyone?

I always put mine in N at the lights as i feel its not good for the drive chain which is pulling the car to be straining to go forward and im holding it with the brakes. I am not a mechanic i have no idea this is only my opinion! BE interesting to actually hear some facts on this though....good point brought up catdog!

Yes the multitronic is a CVT box - even in the newest incarnation which always provides 7 ratios rather than the pre-2005 ones which behave more like a normal cvt.

I very rarely go into N - only for a very prolonged delay.

The drive chain is under very little load at this point - the CVT itself unlike a traditional torque-converter based auto has no inherent 'creep' whatsoever - the 'creep' that we all experience is actually electronic control of the conventional clutch, slightly and deliberately slipping it to simulate a normal auto creep.. done to keep traditional auto drivers happy.. so I would suspect that its actually wear on the clutch that is an issue rather than the chain and associated mechanism.. But this function was 'designed in' and the materials should cope with it. Audi provide no advice on this, and there are a lot of these boxes out there.. in fact the only advice seems to be oil changes at 40k - same as their normal autos!

cant comment on whether the repeated engagement of D-N-D etc would have an effect, I dont know.

my irritation is that for this programmed in creep to work, the clutch is already partially engaged.. so why does it take so long to fully engage when you actually go!

[ QUOTE ]
my irritation is that for this programmed in creep to work, the clutch is already partially engaged.. so why does it take so long to fully engage when you actually go!

[/ QUOTE ]